Vaut-il la peine de continuer à mettre à jour mon logiciel Mac OS?

Ce guide a pour but d'aider les propriétaires d'ordinateurs Mac à déterminer s'il vaut la peine de continuer à mettre à jour leur système d'exploitation Mac. Il contient certains des avantages qu'ils ont à gagner, ainsi que des guides étape par étape sur la recherche manuelle des mises à jour logicielles et l'activation des mises à jour logicielles automatiques.

Développé et commercialisé par Apple Inc depuis 2001, Mac OS, anciennement appelé Mac OS X, et plus tard OS X, est une série de systèmes d'exploitation graphiques à source fermée qui servent de logiciel d'exploitation principal pour les ordinateurs Mac d'Apple. Compatible avec les ordinateurs portables et les ordinateurs de bureau, le Mac OS occupe la deuxième place parmi les systèmes d'exploitation les plus utilisés, après Microsoft Windows.

Le système d'exploitation est la deuxième série grand public de logiciels d'exploitation Macintosh, la première version du système d'exploitation, le Classic Mac OS, étant sortie en 1999. La version finale a eu lieu en 1999, qui a vu le lancement de Mac OS 9.

En 2001, la première version de bureau du logiciel d'exploitation, Mac OS X 10.0, est arrivée sur le marché. Cette version a été mise à jour vers la version 10.1 plus tard cette année-là. Les versions antérieures de Mac OS X fonctionnaient sur le matériel basé sur PowerPC. Cependant, Apple est progressivement passé à des versions fonctionnant sur des ordinateurs Mac Intel. À partir de 2020, la société a commencé à créer des versions pour les Mac Apple Silicon.

Dans cet esprit, il convient de noter qu'Apple développe des mises à jour de logiciels et d'applications qui aident à optimiser les performances et l'efficacité de votre ordinateur Mac. Par conséquent, voici quelques raisons pour vous rassurer que la mise à jour fréquente de votre logiciel Mac OS est une entreprise louable.

Vaut-il la peine de continuer à mettre à jour mon logiciel Mac OS?

Cela vaut la peine de continuer à mettre à jour votre logiciel Mac OS pour les raisons détaillées ci-dessous;

  • La mise à jour du logiciel et des applications informatiques Mac par défaut vous permet d'accéder à de nouvelles fonctionnalités qui améliorent votre expérience numérique.
  • Les mises à jour logicielles améliorent les performances de votre bureau.
  • Des mises à jour fréquentes aident également à corriger les bogues, ce qui corrige les vulnérabilités de sécurité qui exposent votre ordinateur aux menaces potentielles.

Compte tenu des avantages ci-dessus, si vous souhaitez installer les mises à jour de Mac OS, vous pouvez y accéder via l'application Paramètres. Cependant, si vous recherchez des mises à jour d'applications, vous pouvez les trouver dans l'App Store d'Apple. Cela mis à part, vous pouvez suivre les étapes ci-dessous pour mettre à niveau le logiciel sur votre ordinateur Mac.

  • Accédez au menu Apple, indiqué par le logo Apple.
  • Choisissez «Préférences système».
  • Cliquez sur «Mises à jour logicielles» pour vérifier les mises à jour.
  • Si une mise à jour est disponible, sélectionnez «Mettre à jour maintenant» pour les installer immédiatement.
  • Vous pouvez également cliquer sur «Plus de détails» pour afficher plus de détails sur chaque mise à jour tout en sélectionnant les mises à jour spécifiques que vous souhaitez installer. Dans de telles circonstances, vous devrez peut-être fournir le mot de passe administrateur.
  • Une fois que la mise à jour logicielle vous informe que votre Mac OS est à jour, cela implique que la version initiale de Mac OS ainsi que les applications par défaut sont également à jour. Ces applications incluent Safari, Messages, Mail, Musique et Photos ainsi que FaceTime, Calendrier et Livres.

Pour lancer les mises à jour automatiques de Mac OS;

  • Dans le menu Apple, allez dans "Préférences Système".
  • Sélectionnez «Mises à jour du logiciel».
  • Cochez la case "Tenir automatiquement mon Mac à jour".

Si vous cliquez sur le bouton "Avancé", vous verrez les options décrites ci-dessous. À partir de là, vous ne cochez que la case correspondant à vos préférences de mise à jour automatique du logiciel.

  • Rechercher les mises à jour: cette option permet à votre ordinateur Mac de rechercher régulièrement des mises à jour logicielles et de sécurité. Il est conseillé de cocher cette case.
  • Télécharger les nouvelles mises à jour lorsqu'elles sont disponibles: si vous cochez cette case, votre Mac commencera automatiquement à télécharger les nouvelles mises à jour dès qu'elles sont disponibles.
  • Installer les mises à jour de Mac OS: celle-ci permet à votre ordinateur personnel d'installer des mises à jour de sécurité et de logiciels sans y être invité. Pendant le processus, votre ordinateur peut vous avertir qu'il doit être redémarré afin que vous puissiez planifier la mise à jour une autre fois si le processus peut vous déranger.
  • Installer les mises à jour depuis l'App Store: cette fonction permet à l'ordinateur de télécharger automatiquement les mises à jour des applications.
  • Installer les fichiers de données et les mises à jour de sécurité: ce paramètre est indépendant du paramètre Installer les mises à jour Mac OS. Il commande principalement à la mise à jour logicielle d'installer automatiquement certaines mises à jour de sécurité. Certaines mises à jour des fichiers système peuvent ne pas nécessiter de redémarrage, y compris les mises à jour de X Protect.

Alternativement;

Si vous n'êtes toujours pas convaincu que la mise à jour régulière de Mac OS est bénéfique pour votre ordinateur, vous pouvez contacter les représentants du service client du service d'assistance de Mac OS pour en savoir plus sur les avantages des mises à jour régulières.

Help from Real People

We partner with a US-based company with live tech support experts available 24/7. Take advantage of a $1 one-week trial membership and chat with an expert now.
Chat With A Help Expert

Why Did GetHuman Write "Vaut-il la peine de continuer à mettre à jour mon logiciel Mac OS?"?

Après que des milliers de Apple clients soient venus à GetHuman à la recherche d'une réponse à ce problème (et bien d'autres), nous avons décidé qu'il était temps de publier des instructions. Nous avons donc mis en place Vaut-il la peine de continuer à mettre à jour mon logiciel Mac OS? pour essayer d'aider. Selon les autres utilisateurs, il faut du temps pour passer à travers ces étapes, y compris le temps consacré à chaque étape et à contacter Apple si nécessaire. Bonne chance et faites-nous savoir si vous avez réussi à résoudre votre problème avec les conseils de cette page.

Why does GetHuman Write How-to Guides for Apple Problems?

GetHuman travaille depuis plus de 10 ans sur la recherche d'informations sur les grandes organisations comme Apple afin d'aider les clients à résoudre plus rapidement les problèmes de service client. Nous avons commencé avec les informations de contact et les moyens les plus rapides pour atteindre un humain dans les grandes entreprises. En particulier ceux avec des systèmes de menu IVR ou téléphoniques lents ou compliqués. Ou des entreprises qui ont des forums d'aide en libre-service au lieu d'un service client. À partir de là, nous nous sommes rendu compte que les consommateurs avaient encore besoin d'une aide plus détaillée pour résoudre les problèmes les plus courants, nous avons donc étendu cet ensemble de guides, qui grandit chaque jour. Et si vous rencontrez des problèmes avec notre Vaut-il la peine de continuer à mettre à jour mon logiciel Mac OS? guide, veuillez nous en informer en nous envoyant des commentaires. Nous voulons être aussi utiles que possible. Si vous avez apprécié ce guide, partagez-le avec vos personnes préférées. Nos informations et outils gratuits sont fournis par vous, le client. Plus il y a de gens qui l'utilisent, mieux c'est.

Apple

Speak to An Expert Now

We partner with a US-based expert help site to provide you with tech support 24/7. Enjoy a $1 one-week trial membership and chat with a live expert now.
Get Live Expert Help
Asked il y a 2 mois
Updated il y a 2 mois
Viewed 31,719 times
Apple
Mise à jour Mac OS
Vaut la peine de mettre à jour le logiciel Mac OS

What customers are saying about this and similar problems

I misplaced the iPhone in my condo. I tried to track it via my iPhone Find my phone ap...
I misplaced the iPhone in my condo. I tried to track it via my iPhone Find my phone ap...
You are an American company. Please support American! Please support the first amendme...
Cancel everything that you are taking my money money
I have heard that Apple is censoring me by removing The Parler App from there phones...
Was this page helpful? If so, please share!
Sharing is what powers GetHuman's free customer service contact information and tools. You can help!

Is It Worth It to Keep Updating My Mac Os Software?

This guide is to help Mac computer owners in determining if it's worth their while to keep updating their Mac Operating Systems. It contains some of the benefits that they stand to accrue along with step by step guides on how to find software updates manually and how to enable automatic software updates.

Developed and marketed by Apple Inc since 2001, Mac OS, previously referred to as Mac OS X, and later as OS X, is a series of closed-source graphical operating systems that serve as the primary operating software for Apple's Mac computers. Compatible with laptops and desktop computers, the Mac OS is second in ranking among the most widely used operating systems, after Microsoft Windows.

The operating system is the second mainstream series of Macintosh operating software, with the first version of the operating system, the Classic Mac OS, being released in 1999. The final release happened in 1999, which saw the launch of the Mac OS 9.

In 2001, the first desktop version of the operating software, the Mac OS X 10.0, hit the market. This version was updated to 10.1 later that year. Earlier versions of the Mac OS X ran on the PowerPC-based hardware. However, Apple gradually transitioned to versions that run on Intel-based Mac computers. As of 2020, the company began creating versions for Apple Silicon Macs.

With this in mind, it's worth noting that Apple develops software and application updates that help in optimizing your Mac computer's performance and efficiency. Therefore, below are some reasons to reassure you that frequently updating your Mac OS software is a worthy venture.

Is it worth it to keep updating my Mac OS software?

It is worth it to keep updating your Mac OS software because of the reasons detailed below;

  • Updating the software and default Mac computer applications allows you to access new features that enhance your digital experience.
  • Software updates improve your desktop's performance.
  • Frequent updates also help in fixing bugs, which remedies security vulnerabilities that leave your computer susceptible to potential threats.

Given the above benefits, if you're looking to install Mac OS updates, you can access them through Settings application. However, if you're looking for application updates, you can find them in the Apple App Store. That aside, you can follow the steps below to upgrade the software on your Mac computer.

  • Go to the Apple Menu, denoted by the Apple logo.
  • Choose "System Preferences".
  • Click on "Software Updates" to check for updates.
  • If there's an update available, select "Update Now" to install them immediately.
  • You can also click on "More Details" to view more details about each update while selecting the specific updates you'd want to be installed. Under such circumstances, you may be required to provide the administrator password.
  • Once the Software Update informs you that your Mac OS is up to date, it implies that the initial version of the Mac OS along with the default applications are also up to date. These applications include Safari, Messages, Mail, Music and Photos as well as FaceTime, Calendar, and Books.

To initiate automatic Mac OS updates;

  • On the Apple menu, go to "System Preferences".
  • Select "Software Updates".
  • Check on the box that reads "Automatically keep my Mac up to date".

If you click on the "Advanced" button, you'll see the options described below. From there, you'll only check the box that matches your automatic software update preferences.

  • Check for updates: This option allows your Mac computer to scan for software and security updates regularly. It's advisable to check this box.
  • Download new updates when available: If you check this box, your Mac will automatically begin downloading new updates whenever they're available.
  • Install Mac OS updates: This one allows your personal computer to install security and software updates without being prompted. During the process, your computer may warn you that it needs to be restarted so you can schedule the update for another time if the process could inconvenience you.
  • Install updates from the App Store: This feature allows the computer to download application updates automatically.
  • Install data files, and security updates: This setting is independent of the Install Mac OS updates setting. It mostly commands the Software Update to install certain security updates automatically. Some of the system file updates may not require a restart, including X Protect updates.

Alternatively;

If you're still not convinced that making regular Mac OS updates is beneficial to your computer, you can contact the customer care representatives at the Mac OS help desk to learn more on the benefits of making regular updates.

Help from Real People

We partner with a US-based company with live tech support experts available 24/7. Take advantage of a $1 one-week trial membership and chat with an expert now.
Chat With A Help Expert

Why Did GetHuman Write "Is It Worth It to Keep Updating My Mac Os Software?"?

After thousands of Apple customers came to GetHuman in search of an answer to this problem (and many others), we decided it was time to publish instructions. So we put together Is It Worth It to Keep Updating My Mac Os Software? to try to help. It takes time to get through these steps according to other users, including time spent working through each step and contacting Apple if necessary. Best of luck and please let us know if you successfully resolve your issue with guidance from this page.

Why does GetHuman Write How-to Guides for Apple Problems?

GetHuman has been working for over 10 years on sourcing information about big organizations like Apple in order to help customers resolve customer service issues faster. We started with contact information and fastest ways to reach a human at big companies. Particularly ones with slow or complicated IVR or phone menu systems. Or companies that have self-serve help forums instead of a customer service department. From there, we realized that consumers still needed more detailed help solving the most common problems, so we expanded to this set of guides, which grows every day. And if you spot any issues with our Is It Worth It to Keep Updating My Mac Os Software? guide, please let us know by sending us feedback. We want to be as helpful as possible. If you appreciated this guide, please share it with your favorite people. Our free information and tools is powered by you, the customer. The more people that use it, the better it gets.

Apple

Speak to An Expert Now

We partner with a US-based expert help site to provide you with tech support 24/7. Enjoy a $1 one-week trial membership and chat with a live expert now.
Get Live Expert Help
Asked 8 months ago
Updated 8 months ago
Viewed 248,928 times
Apple
Mac OS update
Worth updating Mac OS software

What customers are saying about this and similar problems

I have a few payments that were taken from my card that I did not authorize and there’s...
I’m being charged .**$ per month. Why? Who do I talk to about this?
I have two iPhone sevens that my boyfriend gave it his old phones, but before to give...
My machooo pro isn’t turning on and I beee help with it triugowhotoit
Hello**All my text messages are being sent with the green background instead of the usu...
Was this page helpful? If so, please share!
Sharing is what powers GetHuman's free customer service contact information and tools. You can help!