كيف يمكنني التفاوض على فواتير الإنترنت والكابلات الخاصة بي؟

يستغرق التفاوض بشأن فواتير الكابلات وقتًا وتحضيرًا. يمكن أن يساعدك المثابرة والاستعداد لتوثيق طلبك مع التسعير من مزودك ومنافسيه على تقليل فاتورتك مع استمرار الحصول على الخدمات التي تحتاجها. قد تحتاج أيضًا إلى إجراء أكثر من مكالمة هاتفية للحصول على السعر الذي تريده وتستحقه.

يمكن أن يكون دفع فواتير المنزل صراعًا دائمًا. في حين أن فواتير الخدمات القياسية عادة ما تكون مباشرة إلى حد ما: فأنت تدفع مبلغًا محددًا لكل وحدة من الغاز أو الكهرباء التي تستخدمها أسرتك ، وتعد فواتير الكابلات والإنترنت مسألة أخرى. في كثير من الأحيان ، يمكن أن تزيد الفواتير دون سابق إنذار وليس من الواضح دائمًا ما تدفع مقابله.

لماذا التفاوض؟

هل يبدو أي من هذه السيناريوهات مألوفًا؟

  • في أحد الأيام تتحقق من كشف حساب بطاقتك الائتمانية وتلاحظ رسومًا كبيرة للغاية من شركة الكابل والإنترنت. عليك التحقق مرة أخرى وإدراك أن السعر الترويجي المنخفض الذي تلقيته عندما بدأت باقتك الجديدة قد انتهى ، والآن أنت عالق في دفع ما يقرب من ضعف هذا المبلغ كل شهر.
  • لقد ترك طفلك الأصغر ، لاعبًا متأصلًا ، المنزل وأنت تتأقلم أنت وزوجك على العيش بمفردكما. أنت تتحدث مع صديق جيد لك كان عشًا فارغًا على مدى السنوات العديدة الماضية ، وتنجرف المحادثة إلى الفواتير. يلاحظ صديقك أنه منذ مغادرة الأطفال ، تستخدم الأسرة بيانات إنترنت أقل بكثير وأنها وزوجها تمكنا من قطع فاتورة الكابلات بنسبة 30٪ عن طريق اختيار حزمة مختلفة تقدمها شركة الكابلات المحلية.
  • لقد تم قطع ساعات عمل زوجك / زوجتك وتعرضت لزيادة في النفقات منذ أن ظهرت لديك مشكلة طبية. بينما تكون سعيدًا بشكل عام بخدمة الكابل والإنترنت ، فمن الضروري أن تقلل نفقات منزلك.

كل هذه السيناريوهات الثلاثة شائعة وستتطلب منك جميعها في النهاية التفاوض مع الإنترنت أو شركة الكابلات لتقليل مستوى الخدمة التي تتلقاها أو خفض فاتورتك الشهرية تمامًا.

التفاوض بشأن فواتير الكابلات والإنترنت: الواقع

لسوء الحظ ، وجد العديد من المستهلكين أن التفاوض على فواتير الكابلات أو الإنترنت المنخفضة قد يكون صعبًا للغاية. نظرًا لأن هذه الصناعة لا يتم تنظيمها بنفس الطريقة التي يتم بها تنظيم المرافق القياسية ، لا يتمتع المستهلكون دائمًا بالحماية بنفس المستوى من الشفافية في ممارسات الفوترة وتكاليف الخدمة.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، تشتهر شركات الاتصالات عن بعد بتوظيف موظفي خدمة العملاء الذين يسعون بنشاط لإحباط المستهلكين. في بعض الحالات ، يشعر المتصلون بالإحباط لدرجة أنهم يتوقفون حتى عن محاولة التفاوض بشأن تخفيض الفاتورة. في حالات أخرى ، قد يتم إقناع المستهلك من قبل ممثل خدمة العملاء باختيار حزمة جديدة لها سعر ترويجي خاص بها ، والتي تخضع للزيادة في غضون بضعة أشهر.

سبب آخر يجعل التفاوض بشأن فواتير الإنترنت والكابلات صعبًا هو أن المستهلكين غالبًا لا يفهمون حقًا ما يدفعون مقابله. في بعض الحالات ، جزء لائق من الفاتورة هو الضرائب والرسوم الحكومية والفيدرالية ، وهو أمر لا يمكن التفاوض عليه بين المستهلك والمزود. تعلم كيفية قراءة فاتورتك وفهم ما تدفعه بالضبط هو خطوة أولى مهمة في بدء التفاوض.

نصائح وحيل للشروع في العمل

هناك العديد من الأشياء التي يمكنك القيام بها للمساعدة في زيادة فرصك في النجاح في خفض فاتورة الكابل أو الإنترنت:

قبل إجراء مكالمتك

  • راجع اتفاقيات الخدمة وبيانات الفواتير. إذا ارتفعت فاتورتك مؤخرًا ، فتأكد من أن لديك كشوف فواتير كافية لتغطية الفترة التي سبقت الزيادة وبعدها. قم بمراجعة اتفاقيات الخدمة وبيانات الفواتير الخاصة بك حتى يكون لديك فهم لما تدفع مقابله وما لا ترغب في دفعه مقابله. على سبيل المثال ، إذا كنت تدفع رسومًا لاستئجار المعدات ، فهناك فرصة جيدة لشراء هذه المعدات مباشرة من خلال أي متجر إلكترونيات استهلاكي وإنهاء اتفاقية الإيجار الخاصة بك مع المزود الخاص بك.
  • قم بإثبات طلبك للحصول على خدمة أقل. أسهل طريقة للقيام بذلك هي التحقق أولاً من الأسعار الترويجية التي يقدمها مزودك الحالي. ستتمكن من العثور على هذه الأسعار عبر الإنترنت ، أو من خلال الإعلانات الترويجية والعروض الترويجية بالبريد المباشر. ستساعدك معرفة الصفقات التي يتم تقديمها للعملاء لأول مرة على التفاوض بسعر أقل.
  • تحقق من أسعار المنافسين. يمكن العثور على هذه المعلومات بسهولة عبر الإنترنت أو من خلال أشكال الإعلان الأخرى.
  • ضع هدفًا في الاعتبار. قد ترغب في العودة إلى السعر الترويجي الخاص بك ، أو السعر المعروض حاليًا للعملاء الجدد ، أو الحصول على خصم متناسب لتخفيض الخدمات ، مثل قطع الكابل ، أو خدمة الهاتف الأرضي ، أو كمية البيانات التي تأتي مع خطتك .
  • إذا كان لديك تاريخ في دفع فاتورتك متأخرًا ، ففكر في تأخير مفاوضاتك حتى تقوم بإنشاء سجل حافل للمدفوعات في الوقت المحدد.

في وقت مكالمتك

  • لديك الوثائق ذات الصلة أمامك. يتضمن ذلك الإعلان أو قطع البريد المباشر من مزودك الحالي أو المنافسين الذين يقدمون أسعارًا أقل مما تدفعه حاليًا ، والعقود ، وكشوف الفواتير ، وأي مراسلات سابقة بينك وبين مزودك حول التسعير.
  • اترك الكثير من الوقت للمفاوضات. قد تضطر إلى الانتظار للتحدث إلى ممثل وبمجرد التحدث إلى شخص ما ، قد يستغرق الأمر 30 دقيقة أو أكثر حتى تكتمل مفاوضاتك. في بعض الحالات ، قد تتمكن من طلب معاودة الاتصال من مزود الخدمة الخاص بك ، وهو أمر مناسب ، لكنك ستحتاج إلى التأكد من أنه يمكنك بالفعل الرد على المكالمة.
  • اجعل القلم والورقة في متناول يدك حتى تتمكن من تدوين الملاحظات أثناء محادثتك.

أثناء مكالمتك

  • كن مهذبا. ممثل خدمة العملاء ليس عدوك. هو أو هي يتبع نصًا وقد يُطلب منه قول أو فعل أشياء معينة أثناء مكالمة من قبل صاحب العمل.
  • كن مثابرا. لا تدع الوكيل يشتت انتباهه بعروض ترويجية غير ذات صلة لا تخفض فعليًا فاتورتك ، أو تثني عنك بالقول إن التخفيض مستحيل عندما تعلم أن الأشخاص الذين يتلقون نفس المستوى من الخدمة يدفعون أقل بكثير منك.
  • اطرح أسئلة مستنيرة. عندما يخبرك أحد الوكلاء أنه ليس من الممكن خفض فاتورتك الشهرية ، فأشر إلى أن الشركة تقدم للعملاء الجدد سعرًا أقل بكثير مقابل عام كامل من الخدمة. لاحظ أنك عميل مخلص وأنك تدفع فاتورتك في الوقت المحدد وأنك تشعر بضرورة أخذ ذلك في الاعتبار.
  • قم بإنهاء المكالمة إذا كنت محبطًا أو مرتبكًا. لا تسمح لإحباطك أن يملي أفعالك أثناء المفاوضات. إذا كنت بحاجة إلى أخذ قسط من الراحة ، فقل ذلك وأغلق المكالمة.

ماذا احترس من

حزم مع خدمات غير ضرورية: تقدم شركات الكابلات والإنترنت عادةً خدمات مجمعة بأسعار ترويجية أقل من خدمة واحدة فقط. إذا عُرض عليك حزمة جديدة بسعر مخفض ، فضع في اعتبارك أن سعر الحزمة قد يزيد بشكل كبير بعد انتهاء الفترة الترويجية. اطلب السعر غير الترويجي للحزمة والخدمة المستقلة.

أسعار ترويجية جديدة: السعر الترويجي مؤقت. اسأل عن مدة السعر وكذلك ما يمكن أن تتوقعه بعد انتهاء الفترة الترويجية.

عروض قنوات الأفلام المجانية: قد يرفض الوكلاء طلبك للحصول على سعر مخفض ولكن ، كامتياز ، يقدمون اشتراكًا تجريبيًا مجانيًا لقناة فيلم. اقبل هذا إذا كنت ترغب في ذلك ، ولكن ضع في اعتبارك أنه سيتم محاسبتك على قناة الفيلم إذا لم تقم بإلغائها قبل نهاية الفترة التجريبية.

ماذا أفعل إذا لم تنجح مكالمتي؟

إذا خرجت من الهاتف باستخدام الكابل أو مزود الإنترنت ولم تحصل على السعر الأدنى الذي تريده ، فخذ بعض الوقت للراحة والتفكير قبل إعادة الاتصال بمزودك.

بمجرد أن تتاح لك فرصة تصفية ذهنك ، استعد لمكالمة أخرى. انظر إلى الوثائق التي جمعتها قبل جهدك الأول في المفاوضات. قد تتمكن من استكمالها بمعلومات إضافية قد تقنع الممثل بتقديم صفقة أفضل لك.

إذا لم ينجح الاتصال ، فجرّب خيار الدردشة المباشرة لمزودك. البديل هو استدعاء مقدم الخدمة الخاص بك على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي: إذا كان لديك الكثير من الأصدقاء أو المتابعين ، فقد تجد أن مقدم الخدمة الخاص بك سيكون على استعداد للعمل معك.

في المواقف التي تشعر فيها حقًا بأنك تتحمل رسومًا زائدة ، قد ترغب في رفع شكواك إلى اللجنة الحكومية في منطقتك التي تنظم مزودي خدمات الكابل أو الإنترنت. قم بتقديم شكوى وأخبر مقدم الخدمة أنك قد فعلت ذلك. هذا نهج بطيء ، ولكنه قد يكون فعالًا للغاية ويحسن فواتير الكابلات للجميع في منطقتك ، وليس أنت فقط.

هل يجب أن أتهدد بالإلغاء؟

في مرحلة ما ، قد تجد نفسك محبطًا للغاية لدرجة أنك تريد ببساطة إنهاء علاقتك بمزودك والانتقال إلى شركة أخرى. إذا كنت تعيش في منطقة يوجد بها العديد من مقدمي الخدمات ، فمن المؤكد أن هذا يمكن أن يكون خيارًا ، خاصة إذا كان مقدم الخدمة الخاص بك غير معقول.

ومع ذلك ، يجب أن تدرك أن التهديد بإلغاء خدمة الكبل / الإنترنت هو أيضًا أسلوب تفاوض معروف جيدًا لمقدمي الخدمة. في معظم الحالات ، إذا طلبت إلغاء خدمتك ، فسيتم إعادة توجيهك إلى شخص يعرف باسم "أخصائي الاستبقاء". هذا هو وكيل خدمة العملاء الذي تم تدريبه لإقناعك بالبقاء مع مقدم الخدمة الحالي.

في بعض الحالات ، قد يتم تمكين اختصاصي الاستبقاء ليقدم لك ما هو شرعيًا أفضل صفقة على باقتك الحالية. في حالات أخرى ، لن يستمع إليك بكل بساطة وسيحاول إجهادك حتى تغلق الهاتف وتضطر إلى بدء عملية الإلغاء من جديد ، أو ستحاول إقناعك بالاستسلام إلغاء خدمتك والبقاء مع باقتك الحالية أو باقة توفر الحد الأدنى من التوفير.

لهذا السبب ، يعتقد العديد من المدافعين عن المستهلك أن هناك طرقًا أفضل من التهديد بالإلغاء عندما يكون كل ما تريد فعله هو خفض فاتورتك. إذا قررت السير في طريق الإلغاء ، فإليك بعض النصائح التي يمكن أن تقصر من وقتك على الهاتف وتساعدك على تجنب التكاليف والرسوم غير الضرورية:

لا تقود مع وقف تلفزيون الكابل

من غير المحتمل أن يؤدي التهديد بإلغاء خدمة التلفزيون الكبلي إلى تقليل الفاتورة بنجاح. هذا لأن الاتجاه العام هو قطع الكابلات لصالح خدمات البث. يتوقع مقدمو الخدمة من الناس قطع الكابل الخاص بهم ، لذلك لن يقدموا تنازلات لأولئك الذين طلبوا التوقف عن خدمتهم.

إذا كان لديك هاتفك أو خدمة الإنترنت من خلال شركة الكابلات الخاصة بك ، فقم بإلغاء إحدى هذه الخدمات ، ويفضل الإنترنت. خدمة الإنترنت هي نقطة الألم بالنسبة لمقدمي الخدمة ، لذا فإن التهديد بقطع هذه الخدمة قد يحفز اختصاصي الاستبقاء على تقديم صفقة أفضل لك.

أخصائيو الاحتفاظ المترددين

كانت هناك حالات وجد فيها المستهلكون أنفسهم على الهاتف لمدة ساعة أو أكثر في محاولة لإقناع أخصائي الاحتفاظ بالتوقف ببساطة عن الخدمة. في بعض الحالات ، قد يكون من الأفضل لك إنهاء المكالمة ومعاودة الاتصال في غضون أيام قليلة لإبلاغ مقدم الخدمة الخاص بك بأنك ستنتقل خارج البلد أو ، على الأقل ، إلى منطقة لا يخدمها مزود الخدمة الخاص بك

تحقق من عملية إرجاع المعدات

إذا تمكنت من تقليل فاتورتك بنجاح من خلال إلغاء بعض الخدمات أو شراء المودم أو جهاز التوجيه الخاص بك ، فستظل بحاجة إلى إعادة المعدات إلى شركة الكابلات الخاصة بك قد يؤدي عدم القيام بذلك إلى فرض رسوم كبيرة على المعدات وكذلك رسوم إضافية.

اطلب من ممثل خدمة العملاء ما عليك القيام به لإعادة المعدات: قد يتمكن الوكيل من إرسال ملصق بريدي مدفوع مسبقًا عبر البريد الإلكتروني حتى تتمكن من إعادة شحن معداتك بسهولة إلى الشركة. قد تكون قادرًا أيضًا على ترك المعدات في المكتب المحلي لمزودك. في جميع الحالات ، تتبع عودتك عبر أرقام التتبع أو عن طريق الحصول على إيصال من مزود الخدمة الخاص بك بعد إسقاط الجهاز.

مراقبة رسوم بطاقات الائتمان وكشوف الفواتير

بعد إلغاء أو تغيير خدمتك ، اطلب من المندوب رقم إلغاء وتحقق من تاريخ إلغاء الخدمة. قم بتدوين هذه المعلومات وتتبعها: ستحتاج إلى التحقق من كشوف الفواتير الخاصة بك للتأكد من عدم تحميلك زيادة في التكلفة.

Help from Real People

We partner with a US-based company with live tech support experts available 24/7. Take advantage of a $1 one-week trial membership and chat with an expert now.
Chat With A Help Expert

Why Did GetHuman Write "كيف يمكنني التفاوض على فواتير الإنترنت والكابلات الخاصة بي؟"?

بعد أن أتى الآلاف من عملاء Comcast إلى GetHuman بحثًا عن إجابة لهذه المشكلة (والعديد من المشاكل الأخرى) ، قررنا أن الوقت قد حان لنشر التعليمات. لذلك قمنا بتجميع كيف يمكنني التفاوض على فواتير الإنترنت والكابلات الخاصة بي؟ في محاولة للمساعدة. تستغرق هذه الخطوات وقتًا وفقًا لمستخدمين آخرين ، بما في ذلك الوقت المستغرق في العمل من خلال كل خطوة والاتصال Comcast إذا لزم الأمر. حظًا سعيدًا ، ويُرجى إعلامنا إذا نجحت في حل مشكلتك بتوجيه من هذه الصفحة.

Why does GetHuman Write How-to Guides for Comcast Problems?

تعمل GetHuman منذ أكثر من 10 سنوات في الحصول على معلومات حول المؤسسات الكبيرة مثل Comcast لمساعدة العملاء على حل مشكلات خدمة العملاء بشكل أسرع. بدأنا بمعلومات الاتصال وأسرع الطرق للوصول إلى إنسان في الشركات الكبرى. خاصة تلك التي بها أنظمة IVR بطيئة أو معقدة أو قائمة الهاتف. أو الشركات التي لديها منتديات مساعدة ذاتية بدلاً من قسم خدمة العملاء. من هناك ، أدركنا أن المستهلكين لا يزالون بحاجة إلى مساعدة أكثر تفصيلاً لحل المشكلات الأكثر شيوعًا ، لذلك قمنا بالتوسع في هذه المجموعة من الأدلة ، التي تنمو كل يوم. وإذا اكتشفت أي مشكلات في دليل كيف يمكنني التفاوض على فواتير الإنترنت والكابلات الخاصة بي؟ ، فيرجى إخبارنا عن طريق إرسال التعليقات إلينا. نريد أن نكون مساعدين قدر الإمكان. إذا كنت تقدر هذا الدليل ، يرجى مشاركته مع الأشخاص المفضلين لديك. معلوماتك وأدواتنا المجانية مدعومة من أنت ، العميل. كلما زاد عدد الأشخاص الذين يستخدمونه ، كان ذلك أفضل.

Comcast

Speak to An Expert Now

We partner with a US-based expert help site to provide you with tech support 24/7. Enjoy a $1 one-week trial membership and chat with a live expert now.
Get Live Expert Help
Asked منذ ٣ أشهر
Updated منذ ٣ أشهر
Viewed 185,122 times
Comcast
خفض فاتورة الكابلات الخاصة بي
التفاوض على الفواتير
تخفيض فاتورة الكابلات الشهرية
خفض أطراف الكابلات
انخفاض فاتورة كومكاست
انخفاض فاتورة Directv
انخفاض فاتورة فيريزون fios
انخفاض فاتورة كابل الميثاق

What customers are saying about this and similar problems

Our WIFI has been down since *:**am this morning. I am furious! I work from home! I am...
Comcast wire from the telephone poll is hanging down at neck and head level in the side...
I have * GHz. Do I have to pay extra for * GHz?
My phone won’t connect to WiFi properly everything else is connected
New service cannot get wireless

هل تدفع اتصالاتك كثيرًا؟

بعد مساعدة المستهلكين لمدة 10 سنوات ، أدركنا أنك بحاجة إلى شخص حي محايد يمكنك التحدث معه عن مقارنة خطط التلفزيون والكابل والإنترنت والهاتف المختلفة في منطقتك - شخص يمكنه مقارنة أفضل الصفقات عبر مزودي الاتصالات. لذلك أنشأنا خدمة كونسيرج مجانية يمكنك الاتصال بها على رقم الهاتف أدناه.

اتصال مجاني: 888-379-2546خدمتنا غير تابعة وبالتالي يمكن مقارنة الخطط عبر العديد من مقدمي الخدمات
Was this page helpful? If so, please share!
Sharing is what powers GetHuman's free customer service contact information and tools. You can help!

How Do I Negotiate My Cable and Internet Bills?

Negotiating cable bills takes time and preparation. Persistence and a willingness to document your request with pricing from your provider and its competitors can help you reduce your bill while still getting the services you need. You may also need to make more than one phone call to get the pricing you want and deserve.

Paying household bills can be a constant struggle. While standard utility bills are usually fairly straightforward: You pay a specific amount per unit of gas or electricity that your household uses, cable and Internet bills are another matter. Often, bills can increase with no warning and it's not always clear what you are paying for.

Why Negotiate?

Do any of these scenarios sound familiar?

  • One day you check your credit card statement and note an extraordinarily large charge from your cable and Internet company. You double-check and realize that the low promotional rate that you had received when you started your new package has expired and now you are stuck paying nearly twice as much each month.
  • Your youngest child, an inveterate gamer, has left the household and you and your spouse are getting adjusted to living by yourselves. You chat with a good friend of yours who has been an empty-nester for the past several years and, the conversation drifts to bills. Your friend notes that since the kids have left, the family uses much less Internet data and that she and her husband were able to cut their cable bill by 30% by choosing a different bundle offered by their local cable company.
  • Your spouse's hours at work have been cut and you've had an increase in expenses since you developed a medical problem. While you are generally happy with your cable and Internet service, it is essential that you reduce your household expenses.

All three of these scenarios are commonplace and all will eventually require you to negotiate with your Internet or cable company to either reduce the level of service you receive or cut your monthly bill outright.

Negotiating Cable and Internet Bills: The Reality

Unfortunately, many consumers have found that negotiating lower cable or Internet bills can be extremely difficult. Because this industry is not regulated the same way standard utilities are, consumers are not always protected by the same level of transparency in billing practices and service costs.

In addition, telecommunications companies are notorious for employing customer service staff that actively seek to frustrate consumers. In some cases, callers become so frustrated that they stop even trying to negotiate a bill reduction. In other cases, a consumer may be persuaded by a customer service representative to choose a new bundle that has its own promotional rate, subject to an increase within a few months.

Another reason why negotiating cable and Internet bills can be difficult is that consumers often don't really understand what they are paying for. In some cases, a decent portion of the bill is state and federal taxes and fees, something that cannot be negotiated between consumer and provider. Learning how to read your bill and understanding what exactly you are paying for is an important first step in getting started with the negotiation.

Tips and Tricks for Getting Started

There are several things that you can do to help maximize your chances of success in getting your cable or Internet bill lowered:

Before Making Your Call

  • Review your service agreements and billing statements. If your bill has recently gone up, make sure you have enough billing statements to cover the period before and after the increase. Review your service agreements and billing statements so that you have an understanding of what you are paying for and what you would like to not pay for. For example, if you are paying an equipment rental fee, there's a decent chance that you can buy this equipment outright through any consumer electronics store and terminate your rental agreement with your provider.
  • Substantiate your request for lower service. The easiest way to do this is to first check out the promotional rates being offered by your current provider. You'll be able to find these rates online, or through advertising and direct mail promotions. Knowing the deals being offered to first-time customers will help you negotiate for a lower rate.
  • Check competitor pricing. This information is easily found online or through other forms of advertising.
  • Have a goal in mind. You might want to revert back to your promotional rate, the rate currently being offered to new customers, or receive a proportionate discount for a reduction in services, such as cutting cable, landline phone service, or the amount of data that comes with your plan.
  • If you have a history of paying your bill late, consider delaying your negotiation until you've established a track record of on-time payments.

At the Time of Your Call

  • Have relevant documentation in front of you. This includes advertising or direct mail pieces from your current provider or competitors that offer lower pricing than what you are currently paying, contracts, billing statements, and any previous correspondence between you and your provider about pricing.
  • Allow plenty of time for negotiations. You may have to wait to speak to a representative and once you speak to someone, it may take 30 minutes or more for your negotiations to be completed. In some cases, you may be able to request a call back from your provider, which is convenient, but you'll need to make sure that you can actually take the call.
  • Have pen and paper handy so that you can take notes during your conversation.

During Your Call

  • Be polite. The customer service representative is not your enemy. He or she is following a script and may be required to say or do certain things during a call by his or her employer.
  • Be persistent. Don't let the agent distract with irrelevant promotions that don't actually lower your bill, or dissuade you by saying a reduction is impossible when you know for a fact that people receiving the same level of service are paying far less than you.
  • Ask informed questions. When an agent tells you that it isn't possible to lower your monthly bill, point out that the company is providing new customers with a much lower price for a full year of service. Note that you are a loyal customer and that you pay your bill on time and that you feel that this should be taken into consideration.
  • End the call if frustrated or confused. Don't allow your frustration to dictate your actions during negotiations. If you need to take a break, say so, and hang up.

What to Watch Out For

Bundles with unneeded services: Cable and Internet companies typically offered bundled services at promotional pricing that is lower than just one service. If you are offered a new bundle at a discounted rate, keep in mind that the price for the package may increase significantly after the promotional period is over. Ask for the non-promotional pricing on the bundle and on the standalone service.

New promotional rates: A promotional rate is temporary. Ask about the duration of the rate as well as what you can expect after the promotional period is over.

Free movie channel offers: Agents may refuse your request for a lowered rate but, as a concession, offer a free trial subscription to a movie channel. Accept this if you wish, but keep in mind that you'll be billed for the movie channel if you don't cancel it before the end of the trial period.

What Should I do if my Call is Unsuccessful?

If you get off the phone with your cable or Internet provider and did not get the lower rate that you wanted, take a bit of time to rest and reflect before re-contacting your provider.

Once you've had a chance to clear your head, prepare for another call. Look over the documentation you assembled before your first effort at negotiations. You might be able to supplement it with additional information that could persuade the representative to offer you a better deal.

If calling doesn't work, try your provider's live-chat option. An alternative is to call out your provider on social media: If you have a lot of friends or followers, you might find that your provider will be willing to work with you.

In situations where you truly feel that you are being overcharged, you may wish to take your complaint to the government commission in your area that regulates cable or Internet providers. File a complaint and let your provider know that you have done so. This is a slow approach, but it might be very effective and improve cable bills for everyone in your area, not just you.

Should I Threaten to Cancel?

At some point, you may find yourself becoming so frustrated that you simply want to end your relationship with your provider and move on to another company. If you are living in an area where you have multiple providers, this certainly can be an option, particularly if your provider is being unreasonable.

You should be aware, however, that threatening to cancel cable/Internet service is also a negotiating technique that is well-known to providers. In most cases, if you do ask to cancel your service, you will be redirected to someone known as a "retention specialist." This is a customer service agent who is trained to persuade you to stay with your current provider.

In some cases, a retention specialist may be empowered to offer you what is legitimately a better deal on your current package. In other cases, he or she simply won't listen to you and will attempt to wear you down so that you either hang up the phone and have to start the cancellation process all over again, or will try to get you to give up on canceling your service and stay with your current package or a package that offers minimal savings.

For this reason, many consumer advocates believe that there are better approaches than threatening a cancellation when all you want to do is lower your bill. If you do decide to go the cancellation route, here are some tips that can shorten your time on the phone and help you avoid unnecessary costs and charges:

Don't Lead with Cable TV Discontinuation

Threatening to cancel just your cable television service is unlikely to result in a successful bill reduction. This is because the general trend is toward cutting cable in favor of streaming services. Providers expect people to cut their cable, so they are not going to make concessions for those who asked to discontinue their service.

If you have your telephone or Internet service through your cable company, threaten to cancel one of these services, preferably the Internet. Internet service is the pain point for providers, so threatening to cut this service may motivate the retention specialist to offer you a better deal.

Reluctant Retention Specialists

There have been cases in which consumers have found themselves on the phone for an hour or more trying to persuade a retention specialist to simply discontinue their service. In some cases, you may be better off hanging up and calling back within a few days to inform your provider that you are moving out of the country or, at the very least, to an area not served by your provider

Verify Equipment Return Process

if you are able to successfully reduce your bill by eliminating certain services or by purchasing your own modem or router, you'll still need to return equipment to your cable company. Failure to do so can result in large charges for the equipment as well as additional fees.

Ask the customer service representative what you need to do to return the equipment: the agent may be able to send you a prepaid mailing label via email so that you can easily ship your equipment back to the company. You may also be able to drop off equipment at your provider's local office. In all cases, keep track of your return via tracking numbers or by getting a receipt from your provider after dropping the equipment off.

Monitor Credit Card Charges and Billing Statements

After you cancel or change your service, ask the representative for a cancellation number and verify the date of service cancellation. Write this information down and keep track of it: You'll need to check your billing statements to ensure that you have not been overcharged.

Help from Real People

We partner with a US-based company with live tech support experts available 24/7. Take advantage of a $1 one-week trial membership and chat with an expert now.
Chat With A Help Expert

Why Did GetHuman Write "How Do I Negotiate My Cable and Internet Bills?"?

After thousands of Comcast customers came to GetHuman in search of an answer to this problem (and many others), we decided it was time to publish instructions. So we put together How Do I Negotiate My Cable and Internet Bills? to try to help. It takes time to get through these steps according to other users, including time spent working through each step and contacting Comcast if necessary. Best of luck and please let us know if you successfully resolve your issue with guidance from this page.

Why does GetHuman Write How-to Guides for Comcast Problems?

GetHuman has been working for over 10 years on sourcing information about big organizations like Comcast in order to help customers resolve customer service issues faster. We started with contact information and fastest ways to reach a human at big companies. Particularly ones with slow or complicated IVR or phone menu systems. Or companies that have self-serve help forums instead of a customer service department. From there, we realized that consumers still needed more detailed help solving the most common problems, so we expanded to this set of guides, which grows every day. And if you spot any issues with our How Do I Negotiate My Cable and Internet Bills? guide, please let us know by sending us feedback. We want to be as helpful as possible. If you appreciated this guide, please share it with your favorite people. Our free information and tools is powered by you, the customer. The more people that use it, the better it gets.

Comcast

Speak to An Expert Now

We partner with a US-based expert help site to provide you with tech support 24/7. Enjoy a $1 one-week trial membership and chat with a live expert now.
Get Live Expert Help
Asked 6 days ago
Updated 6 days ago
Viewed 14,486 times
Comcast
lower my cable bill
negotiate bills
decrease monthly cable bill
lowering cable tips

What customers are saying about this and similar problems

No reception on one t.v. Unable to get channel on another.
Modern is offline. Unplugging didn't help.
One station CBS get Spanish all the other ones are English earlier today the Syfy chann...
Picked up a replacement modem because the first one that was issued to me was kicking m...
Newly setup internet. Keeps dropping service.

Paying Too Much for Cable?

We created a free, impartial concierge you can speak to right now that can compare TV, cable, phone, and Internet deals in your area. Are you already getting the best deal? Call now and talk to a real, live person who can tell you what promotions you are missing out on.

Call Free Anytime: 888-379-2546Our service is unaffiliated and thus can compare plans across many providers
Was this page helpful? If so, please share!
Sharing is what powers GetHuman's free customer service contact information and tools. You can help!