如何为家人选择合适的互联网速度?

缓慢的互联网速度可能会使上网感到沮丧,但许多家庭的速度超出了他们实际需要。结果,他们为Internet服务支付的费用比他们应有的多。在选择Internet计划之前,请根据您的活动和使用的设备数量,检查您家庭的Internet服务实际使用情况。

没有什么比慢速互联网更令人烦恼的了:没有人愿意等待网页加载,像素化图形或在流视频时体验缓冲。然而,事实是,许多家庭为他们根本不需要的互联网速度付出了高昂的代价。与本地电缆公司或Internet服务提供商签订合同之前,请评估您家庭的Internet使用情况并进行一些研究。您可能每年可以在Internet连接上节省数百美元。

互联网套餐选择:要害所在

在做出有关家庭Internet服务的决定时,您可能会遇到一系列强调数据速度的软件包。您还会注意到,与那些速度较慢的软件包相比,速度较快的成本通常更高,有时甚至更高。虽然容易假设更快越好,但事实却有点复杂。在许多情况下,鉴于家庭成员实际使用Internet的方式,个人和家庭为家庭Internet速度付费是不必要的。

在许多情况下,消费者永远不会意识到自己在为膨胀的互联网套餐付费。但是,有时他们确实意识到他们不再需要所支付的服务水平。麻烦在于,许多Internet服务提供商很难降级Internet服务包,尤其是如果该包是电信服务包(例如有线电视,家庭安全或电话服务)的一部分时。虽然可以协商较低的价格或取消某些服务,但许多消费者报告在这样做方面确实遇到了困难。

因此,对于Internet用户而言,通常最好避免在注册新服务时提供速度过快的软件包。毕竟,如果当前的速度水平不够,服务提供商会很乐意升级服务。当您想减少开支时,他们并不高兴。

计算速度需求

在计算家庭所需的互联网速度水平时,应考虑两个因素:

  • 您家里经常同时使用多少个设备?
  • 您和您的家人如何使用互联网?例如,您主要是上网购物,社交媒体和阅读新闻吗?还是您依靠互联网来流媒体播放电视节目,电影,视频和游戏?
  • 你家的其他人呢?如果您不了解您的配偶或孩子如何使用互联网,请花一些时间向他们询问他们的习惯和偏好。

了解速度需求并不总是看起来那么简单。例如,许多人一次操作多个与Internet连接的设备:一个家庭成员可能在他的计算机上,通过Facebook组与朋友聊天,而通过Spotify在手机上播放音乐。同时,另一位家庭成员可能正在通过平板电脑上的Twitter滚动浏览家庭智能电视上的Netflix,而另一位家庭成员正在通过Amazon Alexa设备流播背景音乐的同时参加PlayStation游戏锦标赛。一直以来,家庭的联网家庭安全系统也正在运行。

虽然家庭中可能只有三个人,但至少有七个设备同时运行,并且其中一些设备正在传输高带宽内容。在这种情况下,僵局很容易发生,使所有参与其中的人感到沮丧。

让我们看一下有三个家庭成员的另一个家庭:一位父母在家从事自由职业者的工作,但主要使用Internet收发电子邮件并将完成的项目上传到托管的在线工作区。这个家庭的10岁女儿上学,另一对父母大部分时间都在她的办公室里度过。父母各有一部手机,但没有人拥有社交媒体,他们将女儿的放映时间严格限制在完成家庭作业所需的时间上,并且每天额外增加一个小时玩游戏或观看视频。该家庭没有订阅任何流媒体服务,例如Netflix或Hulu,而是依靠基本的有线计划来收听广播新闻和娱乐。

对于这个家庭来说,高级互联网计划可能会浪费金钱。如果他们决定停止为未使用的服务支付高价,则他们可能不得不花费数小时尝试与有线电视公司进行谈判,甚至取消其当前服务,并经历转移到竞争对手的麻烦。

这些情况说明,在制定计划之前,消费者调查互联网需求非常重要。如果由于搬迁而打算获得新的Internet服务,或者已经决定切换到新的提供商,请检查您的在线帐户以获取平均每日Internet使用量的详细信息。

通常,您需要考虑设备数量和使用情况。如果您有一台或两台设备同时运行,并且通常专注于社交媒体,应答电子邮件,在线购物以及偶尔看电影,那么25 Mbps的速度就足够了。一旦三个或三个以上的设备同时运行,再加上4K流或享受网络游戏,50-100 Mbps的计划就是一个好主意。

如果您家中有五台以上的设备,并且您还进行了大量的实时流式传输或观看许多电影,请选择提供150 -200 Mbps的计划。

千兆计划呢?

现在,许多Internet提供商都夸耀提供超快速度的千兆计划。在某些情况下,这些计划以极具吸引力的介绍价格提供。但是,如本文所述,这些介绍费率仅仅是:介绍期结束后,您可能会发现每月费率会大大提高。如果您考虑采用千兆计划是因为其推出率,而不是因为您实际上需要这种速度,请确保您了解介绍期有多长,介绍率到期后计划的预期成本以及您的选择是为了降低成本。

在介绍期即将结束时,有些人已经成功致电其Internet服务提供商,并说服客户服务代表继续以同样的价格兑现。但是,其他人则可能不得不接受大幅加价或转而使用其他提供商。

警告:升级之前

如果您打算升级Internet速度是因为您觉得当前的软件包性能不佳,那么在致电ISP的客户服务部门之前,您需要检查几件事。您遇到的问题可能与Internet速度无关。相反,问题可能是设备性能。

首先,使用在线Internet速度检查服务确定您当前的速度。您当前的速度很可能低于或高于计划所承诺的速度。如果速度低于预期,并且您使用的是通过Wi-Fi连接的计算机来执行测试,请尝试将设备(使用以太网电缆)连接到路由器。再次执行测试。如果连接到路由器时速度提高,则问题可能出在Wi-Fi分配或路由器本身上。

接下来,检查您的设备。如果调制解调器或路由器较旧,则可能需要更换。当租用的设备过期时,您不能依靠Internet服务提供商来通知您。而是,请致电您的ISP并请求更新的路由器。另一种选择是购买新的调制解调器或路由器,并避免每月向提供商支付租金。

检查速度是否根据您在家中的位置而变化。如果您发现距离路由器越近速度越快,则可能需要采取措施来改善周围的Wi-Fi连接。可以购买Wi-Fi范围扩展器,您可以将其插入家中的插座。补充剂可增强其所在房间的接待能力。在某些情况下,Internet服务提供商(例如Comcast)自己出售这些设备。此外,亚马逊等零售商还出售由第三方消费电子公司生产的扩展器。

一句话警告:一些消费者报告说,他们试图从其互联网公司购买扩展器,只是想将其出售给更昂贵的互联网产品。如果您遇到这种情况,请礼貌地坚持购买扩展剂。如果客户服务代表继续给您带来麻烦,请致电并通过第三方零售商购买扩展服务。

另一种选择是请求技术人员来确定您的连接,设备或环境是否存在问题,这些问题可能会干扰Internet速度。在某些情况下,这可能是一场赌博:如果确定连接问题不是由布线或提供商拥有的设备引起的,您的提供商可能会向您收取技术人员的费用。但是,另一方面,一个技术人员的费用可能远远低于不必要地升级到更高速度的费用。

底线

随着越来越多的人上网并使用多种设备进行上网,消费者可能会经历对更高互联网速度的需求也就不足为奇了。不幸的是,服务提供商的做法会使个人和家庭难以确定速度需求或追溯调整服务计划。预先计划,再加上测试较慢速度的意愿,可以降低多年来可以维持的较低利率。

Help from Real People

We partner with a US-based company with live tech support experts available 24/7. Take advantage of a $1 one-week trial membership and chat with an expert now.
Chat With A Help Expert

Why Did GetHuman Write "如何为家人选择合适的互联网速度?"?

在成千上万的Comcast客户来到GetHuman寻求针对此问题(以及许多其他问题)的答案之后,我们认为是时候发布说明了。因此,我们将如何为家人选择合适的互联网速度?组合在一起以尝试提供帮助。根据其他用户来完成这些步骤需要花费时间,包括花费在完成每个步骤和联系Comcast(如有必要)上的时间。祝您好运,如果您通过此页面上的指南成功解决了问题,请告诉我们。

Why does GetHuman Write How-to Guides for Comcast Problems?

为了帮助客户更快地解决客户服务问题,GetHuman致力于寻找诸如Comcast之类的大型组织的信息已有10多年的历史了。我们从联系信息开始,并以最快的方式与大公司联系。特别是IVR或电话菜单系统缓慢或复杂的系统。或拥有自助服务论坛而不是客户服务部门的公司。从那里,我们意识到消费者仍然需要更详细的帮助来解决最常见的问题,因此我们扩展到了这一指南,并且这一指南每天都在增长。并且,如果您发现我们的如何为家人选择合适的互联网速度?指南存在任何问题,请通过向我们发送反馈来告知我们。我们希望尽可能提供帮助。如果您喜欢本指南,请与您最喜欢的人分享。我们的免费信息和工具由您(客户)提供支持。使用它的人越多,获得的效果就越好。

Comcast

Speak to An Expert Now

We partner with a US-based expert help site to provide you with tech support 24/7. Enjoy a $1 one-week trial membership and chat with a live expert now.
Get Live Expert Help
Asked il y a 3 mois
Updated il y a 3 mois
Viewed 212,125 times
Comcast
选择互联网速度
房屋上网速度
我需要什么互联网
我需要多少网速
comcast互联网速度
上网速度
包机上网速度
直接互联网速度

What customers are saying about this and similar problems

I am moving . I need services removed from home
I need a receipt emailed to me for the payment I made yesterday.
Installed a VPN of own choosing for remote work and now my IP address is blacklisted. I...
I need to discuss my bill and Why it increased
I want to drop voice service* but need to know how it will affect my charges before I do.
Was this page helpful? If so, please share!
Sharing is what powers GetHuman's free customer service contact information and tools. You can help!

How Do I Pick the Right Internet Speed for My Family?

Slow internet speeds can make getting online frustrating, but many households have more speed than they actually need. As a result, they are paying a lot more for Internet service than they should have to. Before selecting an Internet plan, review your household's actual usage of Internet service, which should be based on both on activity and number of devices used.

There are few things more annoying than slow Internet: Nobody wants to have to wait for a web page to load, pixilated graphics, or to experience buffering when streaming a video. The truth is, however, that many households are overpaying for Internet speeds that they simply don't need. Before signing a contract with your local cable company or Internet service provider, take stock of your household's Internet usage and do some research. You may be able to save hundreds of dollars annually on your Internet connection.

Internet Package Selection: What's at Stake

As you make decisions about home Internet service, you'll likely encounter a range of package offerings that emphasize data speeds. You'll also notice is that faster speeds typically cost more, sometimes significantly more, than those packages with slower speeds. While it is easy to assume that faster is better, the truth is a bit more complicated. In many cases, individuals and families are paying for home Internet speeds that are unnecessary in light of how the Internet is actually being used by household members.

In many cases, consumers never realize that they are paying for a bloated Internet package. Occasionally, however, they do become aware that they no longer need the level of service that they are paying for. The trouble is that many Internet service providers make it very difficult to downgrade Internet service packages, particularly if the package is part of a bundle of telecommunications services, such as cable television, home security, or phone service. While it is possible to negotiate lower rates or cancel some services, many consumers report experiencing a real struggle in doing so.

For this reason, it is often best for Internet users to avoid packages that offer excessive speeds when signing up for new service. After all, service providers are more than happy to upgrade service if the current level of speed is not sufficient. They aren't so happy when you want to cut back.

Calculating Speed Needs

There are two factors that you should consider when calculating the level of Internet speed that your household needs:

  • How many devices are regularly used in your home at the same time?
  • How do you and your family members use the Internet? For example, do you mostly get online for shopping, social media and reading the news? Or are you someone who relies on the Internet for streaming television shows, movies, videos and games?
  • What about the other people in your household? If you aren't up on how your spouse or kids use the Internet, take some time to ask them about their habits and preferences.

Understanding speed needs is not always as straightforward as it seems. For example, many people operate multiple Internet-connected devices at once: One member of the household may be on his computer chatting with friends via a Facebook group, while streaming music through Spotify over his phone. At the same time, another family member may be watching Netflix on the family Smart TV while scrolling through Twitter on her tablet and still another household member is participating in a PlayStation game tournament while streaming background music through an Amazon Alexa device. All the while, the family's connected home security system is also running.

While there may only be three people in the household, there are at least seven devices running at the same time, and several of these devices are streaming high bandwidth content. In this kind of scenario, logjams could easily happen, causing frustration for everyone involved.

Let's look at another household with three family members: One parent works from home as a freelancer but primarily uses the Internet for email and uploading finished projects to a managed online workspace. The family's 10-year-old daughter goes to school and the other parent spends most of the day at her office. While the parents each have a cell phone, neither one has a social media presence and they sharply restrict their daughter's screen time to what is necessary to complete homework and an additional an hour a day for playing a game or watching videos. The household does not subscribe to any streaming services, such as Netflix or Hulu, relying on a basic cable plan for catching on-air news and entertainment.

For this family, a premium-level Internet plan would likely be a waste of money. If they ever decided to stop paying a premium price for service that they aren't using, they'd probably have to spend hours trying to negotiate with their cable company or even cancel their current service and go through the hassle of transferring to a competitor.

Situations like these illustrate how important it is for consumers to investigate their Internet needs before committing to a plan. If you plan to get new Internet service because you are relocating or you've already decided to switch to a new provider, check your online account for details of your average daily Internet usage.

In general, you'll want to consider the number of devices plus usage. If you have one or two devices operating at the same time and generally focus on social media, answering email, shopping online and occasionally watch movies, speeds of up to 25 Mbps should be sufficient. Once you have three or more devices operating at once, plus streaming 4K or enjoying networked gaming, 50-100 Mbps plans are a good idea.

If there are more than five devices in your home, and you also do a lot of live streaming or watch a lot of movies, go with a plan that provides 150 -200 Mbps.

What About Gigabit Plans?

Many Internet providers are now boasting of gigabit plans that offer hyper-fast speeds. In some cases, these plans are offered at extremely attractive introductory rates. As noted in this article, however, these introductory rates are just that: you may find that your monthly rates go up considerably once your introductory period is over. If you are considering a gigabit plan because of its introductory rate, not because you actually need this level of speed, make sure that you understand how long the introductory period is, the expected cost of your plan after the introductory rate expires and what your options are for keeping costs down.

Some people have had success in calling their Internet service provider near the end of their introductory period and persuading the customer service representative to continue to honor the same rate. Others, however, may have to accept a significant rate increase or move to a different provider.

Warning: Before you Upgrade

If you plan to upgrade your Internet speeds because you feel as though your current package doesn't perform well, there are a few things you'll want to check before calling your ISP's customer service department. The problems you are experiencing may have nothing to do with Internet speed. Instead, the issue may be equipment performance.

First, use an online Internet speed check service to determine exactly your current speeds. It may well be that your current speeds are lower, or higher, than those promised by your plan. If your speeds are lower than you expect, and you are using a computer that is connected by Wi-Fi to perform the test, try connecting the device (using an ethernet cable) to your router. Perform the test again. If you are getting higher speeds when connected to the router, the problem may be with your Wi-Fi distribution or the router itself.

Next, check your equipment. If your modem or router is old, it may be in need of replacement. You cannot rely on your Internet service provider to let you know when your rented equipment is out of date. Instead, call your ISP and request an updated router. Another option is to buy a new modem or router and avoid paying monthly rental fees to your provider.

Check to see if your speeds change depending on where you are in your home. If you notice that your speeds get better the closer you get to your router, you may need to take steps to improve Wi-Fi connectivity around your place. It is possible to purchase Wi-Fi range extenders that you can plug into outlets around your home. The extenders boost reception in the rooms where they are present. In some cases, Internet service providers, such as Comcast, sell these devices themselves. In addition, retailers such as Amazon also sell extenders manufactured by third-party consumer electronics companies.

One word of warning: Some consumers have reported trying to purchase extenders from their Internet company only to be up-sold to a more expensive Internet package. If this happens to you, politely insist on purchasing the extenders. If the customer service representative continues to give you a hard time, and the call and purchase extenders through a third-party retailer.

Another option is to request a technician's visit to determine if there is a problem with your connections, equipment or environment that might be interfering with Internet speed. In some cases, this can be a gamble: Your provider may charge you a technician's fee if it is determined that problems with connectivity are not due to wiring or provider-owned equipment. On the other hand, however, the cost of one technician's fee may be far less than the cost of unnecessarily upgrading to higher speeds.

The Bottom Line

As more people get online and use multiple devices to do so, it's not surprising that consumers may experience a need for higher Internet speeds. Unfortunately, service provider practices can make it difficult for individuals and families to determine speed needs or retroactively adjust service plans. A bit of advance planning, plus a willingness to test slower speeds, can pay off in lower rates that can be sustained over the years.

Help from Real People

We partner with a US-based company with live tech support experts available 24/7. Take advantage of a $1 one-week trial membership and chat with an expert now.
Chat With A Help Expert

Why Did GetHuman Write "How Do I Pick the Right Internet Speed for My Family?"?

After thousands of Comcast customers came to GetHuman in search of an answer to this problem (and many others), we decided it was time to publish instructions. So we put together How Do I Pick the Right Internet Speed for My Family? to try to help. It takes time to get through these steps according to other users, including time spent working through each step and contacting Comcast if necessary. Best of luck and please let us know if you successfully resolve your issue with guidance from this page.

Why does GetHuman Write How-to Guides for Comcast Problems?

GetHuman has been working for over 10 years on sourcing information about big organizations like Comcast in order to help customers resolve customer service issues faster. We started with contact information and fastest ways to reach a human at big companies. Particularly ones with slow or complicated IVR or phone menu systems. Or companies that have self-serve help forums instead of a customer service department. From there, we realized that consumers still needed more detailed help solving the most common problems, so we expanded to this set of guides, which grows every day. And if you spot any issues with our How Do I Pick the Right Internet Speed for My Family? guide, please let us know by sending us feedback. We want to be as helpful as possible. If you appreciated this guide, please share it with your favorite people. Our free information and tools is powered by you, the customer. The more people that use it, the better it gets.

Comcast

Speak to An Expert Now

We partner with a US-based expert help site to provide you with tech support 24/7. Enjoy a $1 one-week trial membership and chat with a live expert now.
Get Live Expert Help
Asked 7 months ago
Updated 7 months ago
Viewed 264,147 times
Comcast
pick internet speed
house internet speed
what internet do i need
how much internet speed do i need
comcast internet speed
fios internet speed
charter internet speed
directv internet speed

What customers are saying about this and similar problems

Our street side box is apart and infested with hornets
I want to modify my account. I want to cancel some subscriptions. I also may want to ad...
I want to modify my account. I want to cancel some subscriptions. I also may want to ad...
Service is out again. Everyday, but today is too long. **** Central Ave, apt ***, Ft...
My Mac Mail program will receive but not send email via Comcast. I need to speak to a t...
Was this page helpful? If so, please share!
Sharing is what powers GetHuman's free customer service contact information and tools. You can help!