Comment augmenter la force de mon signal Wi-Fi ?

Une mauvaise connectivité Wi-Fi peut être causée par plusieurs facteurs, notamment des routeurs défectueux, un forfait Internet qui ne fournit pas une vitesse ou une bande passante adéquate, ou un mauvais placement du routeur. Vous pouvez améliorer votre signal en achetant un nouveau routeur, en ajoutant une antenne ou un amplificateur, en plaçant votre routeur dans un emplacement central de votre maison et en vous assurant que votre utilisation domestique ne dépasse pas ce qui est inclus dans le forfait de votre fournisseur.

Le service Internet est coûteux, il est donc logique de vouloir une réception constante, peu importe où vous vous trouvez dans votre maison. Malheureusement, de nombreux consommateurs éprouvent de la frustration lorsque les signaux Wi-Fi offrent des vitesses plus lentes dans certaines pièces ou certains étages, ou ne parviennent tout simplement pas à fournir les vitesses que vous attendez. Dans certains cas, les consommateurs pourraient être tentés de dépenser de l'argent pour des forfaits Internet plus chers ou d'acheter de nouveaux équipements.

Bien que ces options puissent convenir dans certains cas, c'est une bonne idée d'envisager des options gratuites ou moins coûteuses avant de s'engager sur une facture Internet mensuelle plus élevée lors de l'achat d'un nouveau routeur.

Comprendre les causes d'une mauvaise connectivité

De nombreux éléments peuvent interférer avec la connectivité Wi-Fi, les vitesses Internet et la qualité du flux. Ceux-ci inclus:

Votre forfait haut débit : Il se peut qu'il y ait une inadéquation entre votre forfait Internet haut débit actuel et l'utilisation d'Internet par votre ménage. Si vous avez plusieurs utilisateurs d'Internet dans votre foyer et que chaque personne possède plusieurs appareils (tels que des téléphones, des tablettes, des ordinateurs, des haut-parleurs intelligents), il se peut que votre foyer dépasse les vitesses et la bande passante pour lesquelles vous payez.

Pirates Wi-Fi : des voisins et d'autres personnes peuvent pirater votre connexion sans que vous le sachiez.

Un routeur obsolète ou défectueux : votre routeur Wi-Fi est l'appareil qui convertit les données analogiques en données numériques, permettant à vos appareils d'accéder à Internet. S'il est vieux ou défectueux, votre connectivité ne sera pas bonne.

Mauvais emplacement du routeur : les signaux Wi-Fi peuvent être entravés par les murs, les portes d'armoires et d'autres objets.

Interférences avec les appareils ménagers et les appareils : certains appareils et appareils, tels que les fours à micro-ondes et les écoute-bébé sans fil, peuvent interférer avec les signaux Wi-Fi. Les grands aquariums peuvent également inhiber les signaux.

Ce que tu peux faire

Vous pouvez faire plusieurs choses pour améliorer la force du signal Wi-Fi de votre domicile :

Identifier la source du problème

Avant d'appeler un technicien ou d'acheter un nouvel équipement, essayez de déterminer la cause de votre ralentissement Wi-Fi. En faisant cela, vous pourrez peut-être économiser du temps et de l'argent.

Limites de connexion

Il se peut que votre signal Wi-Fi soit correct et que le problème de vitesses lentes ou de performances erratiques ait une autre cause :

1. Vérifiez votre forfait Internet et notez votre bande passante et vos vitesses.

2. Ensuite, trouvez un calculateur de bande passante en ligne et entrez des informations sur l'utilisation d'Internet par votre foyer. Si le calculateur indique que votre utilisation dépasse probablement votre bande passante, vous avez deux choix : réduire l'utilisation domestique ou mettre à niveau votre forfait.

3. Utilisez un câble Ethernet pour connecter votre ordinateur à votre modem. À partir de là, effectuez un test de vitesse (votre FAI doit en fournir un sur son site ou vous pouvez utiliser un site de test de vitesse tiers). Si vos vitesses sont lentes, contactez votre FAI et demandez une assistance technique. Une fois les vitesses lentes résolues, votre réception Wi-Fi s'améliorera probablement.

4. Vérifiez l'état de votre routeur pour voir quels appareils y sont connectés. Vous pouvez le faire dans le menu des paramètres de votre ordinateur. Une autre option consiste à utiliser l'application mobile fournie par votre fournisseur de services Internet pour vérifier les paramètres de votre routeur. Si quelqu'un accède à votre Wi-Fi sans votre permission, changez le mot de passe sur votre réseau.

Âge et emplacement du routeur

Quand avez-vous acheté votre routeur actuel ? Si vous ne vous en souvenez pas, ce n'est pas grave, mais il se peut que votre routeur ait besoin d'être mis à jour. Si vous louez votre équipement auprès de votre fournisseur d'accès Internet, appelez et demandez à obtenir un remplacement. Si vous possédez votre routeur et que vous l'avez depuis plus de trois ans, vous devrez peut-être le remplacer.

Si votre routeur est à jour, tenez compte de son emplacement : si vous êtes comme la plupart des gens, vous préféreriez que votre routeur ne soit pas à l'air libre, car il pourrait entrer en conflit avec votre décor. Malheureusement, de nombreuses personnes y remédient en plaçant leur routeur dans une armoire ou derrière un autre objet, comme un appareil électroménager ou un appareil électronique. Ces méthodes de dissimulation, malheureusement, inhibent la qualité du signal, ce qui entraîne des vitesses et des performances médiocres.

Les routeurs doivent être placés dans une pièce centrale de votre maison et dans une zone dégagée. Si vous êtes préoccupé par les apparences, il existe des boîtes de rangement pour cordons de routeur qui peuvent dissimuler les cordons et créer une apparence plus ordonnée. Éloignez votre routeur des appareils électroniques, des gros appareils électroménagers et des aquariums, qui peuvent tous causer des interférences de signal.

Autres options pour amplifier les signaux Wi-Fi

Si vous avez fait de votre mieux pour l'emplacement de votre routeur et que vous avez toujours besoin d'un signal plus fort, considérez ce qui suit :

1. Ajouter une antenne à votre routeur, s'il n'en a pas déjà une. Ces antennes sont abordables et peuvent offrir une solution simple aux faibles vitesses et aux connexions interrompues.

2. Achat d'extensions Wi-Fi. Ces prolongateurs, parfois appelés "pods", se branchent sur les prises électriques et amplifient le signal Wi-Fi dans toute la maison. Vous pouvez placer ces prolongateurs dans n'importe quelle pièce de votre maison où vous souhaitez améliorer la connectivité. Gardez à l'esprit que vous n'aurez peut-être pas besoin de plus d'un ou deux boosters : essayez d'en acheter un à la fois pour voir si votre couverture s'améliore. Ajoutez des boosters au besoin, mais ne gaspillez pas d'argent en en achetant plusieurs à la fois, sauf si vous êtes certain d'en avoir besoin d'un à chaque étage, dans votre sous-sol ou dans plusieurs pièces.

3. Achat ou location d'un routeur maillé. Un routeur maillé peut se connecter à des routeurs satellites qui, comme des boosters, peuvent être placés autour de votre maison ou de votre bâtiment pour une couverture maximale. Ces systèmes peuvent coûter cher, mais de nombreuses personnes se déclarent très satisfaites. Votre FAI peut également vous proposer de vous louer un système de routeur maillé. Si vous préférez que votre FAI gère votre équipement, la location peut être une excellente option qui vous permet de mettre à niveau gratuitement si nécessaire.

La décision d'investir dans des répéteurs ou un routeur maillé doit être prise après avoir travaillé avec votre fournisseur de services Internet pour déterminer la cause des vitesses lentes. Gardez à l'esprit que si vous achetez ces articles auprès d'un détaillant qui n'est pas votre fournisseur, vous pourriez avoir des difficultés à obtenir une assistance technique de votre FAI à l'avenir. Vous devrez peut-être travailler avec le vendeur ou le fabricant du routeur ou des appareils en cas de dysfonctionnement.

Dernier mot

Personne ne veut payer pour un service Internet qui ne fournit pas assez. En même temps, vous ne voulez pas payer pour des services, des équipements inutiles ou plus de bande passante que ce dont votre foyer a réellement besoin. Il est essentiel d'enquêter et de résoudre tout problème avec votre service qui n'est pas lié à votre routeur avant de prendre d'autres décisions concernant vos problèmes de vitesse.

Dans de nombreux cas, les problèmes de signaux Wi-Fi sont liés à un mauvais placement du routeur et, dans certains cas, à des murs très épais qui inhibent les signaux. Ces problèmes sont souvent résolus en plaçant le routeur dans un emplacement central et, si nécessaire, en ajoutant des amplificateurs de signal supplémentaires autour de votre maison.

Help from Real People

We partner with a US-based company with live tech support experts available 24/7. Take advantage of a $1 one-week trial membership and chat with an expert now.
Chat With A Help Expert

Why Did GetHuman Write "Comment augmenter la force de mon signal Wi-Fi ?"?

Après que des milliers de Comcast clients soient venus à GetHuman à la recherche d'une réponse à ce problème (et bien d'autres), nous avons décidé qu'il était temps de publier des instructions. Nous avons donc mis en place Comment augmenter la force de mon signal Wi-Fi ? pour essayer d'aider. Selon les autres utilisateurs, il faut du temps pour passer à travers ces étapes, y compris le temps consacré à chaque étape et à contacter Comcast si nécessaire. Bonne chance et faites-nous savoir si vous avez réussi à résoudre votre problème avec les conseils de cette page.

Why does GetHuman Write How-to Guides for Comcast Problems?

GetHuman travaille depuis plus de 10 ans sur la recherche d'informations sur les grandes organisations comme Comcast afin d'aider les clients à résoudre plus rapidement les problèmes de service client. Nous avons commencé avec les informations de contact et les moyens les plus rapides pour atteindre un humain dans les grandes entreprises. En particulier ceux avec des systèmes de menu IVR ou téléphoniques lents ou compliqués. Ou des entreprises qui ont des forums d'aide en libre-service au lieu d'un service client. À partir de là, nous nous sommes rendu compte que les consommateurs avaient encore besoin d'une aide plus détaillée pour résoudre les problèmes les plus courants, nous avons donc étendu cet ensemble de guides, qui grandit chaque jour. Et si vous rencontrez des problèmes avec notre Comment augmenter la force de mon signal Wi-Fi ? guide, veuillez nous en informer en nous envoyant des commentaires. Nous voulons être aussi utiles que possible. Si vous avez apprécié ce guide, partagez-le avec vos personnes préférées. Nos informations et outils gratuits sont fournis par vous, le client. Plus il y a de gens qui l'utilisent, mieux c'est.

Comcast

Speak to An Expert Now

We partner with a US-based expert help site to provide you with tech support 24/7. Enjoy a $1 one-week trial membership and chat with a live expert now.
Get Live Expert Help
Asked il y a 10 mois
Updated il y a 10 mois
Viewed 386,369 times
Comcast
force du signal comcast
force du signal fios
booster le signal wifi

What customers are saying about this and similar problems

Cannot get into my email account on my desktop.
I'm want to make payments arrangements on my bill
I need a tech to come out and help set up new tv for service. Tech will need to bring e...
every morning when i turn on my tv i get an error message *THER IS AN ISSUE WITH CONNEC...
Billing need extension on payment
Was this page helpful? If so, please share!
Sharing is what powers GetHuman's free customer service contact information and tools. You can help!

How to Boost My Wi-Fi Signal Strength?

Poor Wi-Fi connectivity can be caused by several factors, including malfunctioning routers, an internet package that does not provide adequate speed or bandwidth, or poor router placement. You can improve your signal by purchasing a new router, adding an antenna or booster, placing your router in a central location within your home, and ensuring that your household use doesn't exceed what is included in your provider package.

Internet service is costly, so it makes sense to want consistent reception no matter where you are in your home. Sadly, many consumers experience frustration when Wi-Fi signals deliver slower speeds in certain rooms or floors, or simply fail to deliver the speeds that you are expecting. In some cases, consumers might be tempted to spend money on higher-priced Internet packages or purchase new equipment.

While these options may be suitable in some cases, it's a good idea to consider free or less expensive options before committing to a higher monthly Internet bill the purchase of a new router.

Understanding the Causes of Poor Connectivity

There are many things that can interfere with Wi-Fi connectivity, Internet speeds and stream quality. These include:

Your broadband package: It may be that there is a mismatch between your current broadband Internet package and household usage of the Internet. If you have multiple Internet users in your household and each person has several devices (such as phones, tablets, computers, smart speakers), it may be that your household is exceeding the speeds and bandwidth that you are paying for.

Wi-Fi pirates: Neighbors and others may be hacking into your connection without you knowing.

An outdated or malfunctioning router: Your Wi-Fi router is the device that translates analog data into digital data, allowing your devices to access the Internet. If it is old or malfunctioning, your connectivity won't be good.

Poor router placement: Wi-Fi signals can be impeded by walls, cabinet doors and other objects.

Home appliance and device interference: Some appliances and devices, such as microwave ovens and wireless baby monitors can interfere with Wi-Fi signals. Large aquariums can also inhibit signals.

What You Can Do

There are several things that you can do to improve your home Wi-Fi signal strength:

Identify the source of the problem

Before calling a technician or buying new equipment, try to figure out the cause of your Wi-Fi slowdown. By doing this, you may be able to save both time and money.

Connection Limitations

It may be that your Wi-Fi signal is just fine and the problem with slow speeds or erratic performance has another cause:

1. Check your Internet package and take note of your bandwidth and speeds.

2. Next, find a bandwidth calculator online and enter information about your household's internet usage. If the calculator shows that your usage likely exceeds your bandwidth, you have two choices: Reduce household usage or upgrade your package.

3. Use an ethernet cable to connect your computer to your modem. From there, perform a speed test (your ISP should provide one on its site or you can use a third-party speed test site). If your speeds are slow, contact your ISP and ask for technical support. Once the slow speeds are resolved, your Wi-Fi reception will likely improve.

4. Check the status of your router to see what devices are connected to it. You can do this in the settings menu on your computer. Another option is to use the mobile app provided by by your Internet service provider to check your router settings. If someone is accessing your Wi-Fi without your permission, change the password on your network.

Router Age & Placement

When did you get your current router? If you can't remember, that's OK, but it may well be that your router needs to be updated. If you rent your equipment from your Internet provider, call and ask about getting a replacement. If you own your router and you've had it for more than three years, you may need to replace it.

If your router is up-to-date, consider its placement: If you are like most people, you'd prefer to not have your router out in the open where it can clash with your decor. Unfortunately, many people remedy this by putting their router in a cabinet or behind another object, such as an appliance or electronic device. These methods of concealment, unfortunately, inhibit signal quality, resulting in poor speeds and performance.

Routers should be placed in a central room in your home and in an area free of obstructions. If you are concerned about appearances, there are router cord organizer boxes that can conceal cords and create a tidier appearance. Keep your router away from electronics, large appliances, and aquariums, all of which can cause signal interference.

Other Options for Boosting Wi-Fi Signals

If you've done the best you can with the placement of your router and still need a stronger signal, consider the following:

1. Adding an antenna to your router, if it doesn't already have one. These antennas are affordable and can offer a simple solution to poor speeds and dropped connections.

2. Purchasing Wi-Fi extenders. These extenders, sometimes known as "pods," plug into electrical outlets and boost the Wi-Fi signal around your home. You can place these extenders into any room in your home where you want to improve connectivity. Keep in mind that you may not need more than one or two boosters: Try purchasing one at a time to see if your coverage improves. Add boosters as needed, but don't waste money on buying several at a time unless you are very sure that you'll need one on each floor, in your basement, or in multiple rooms.

3. Purchasing or renting a mesh router. A mesh router can connect to satellite routers that, like boosters, can be placed around your home or building for maximum coverage. These systems can get pricey, but many people report a great deal of satisfaction. Your ISP may also offer to rent a mesh router system to you. If you prefer to have your ISP manage your equipment, renting may be an excellent option that allows you to upgrade for free when necessary.

The decision to invest in extenders or a mesh router should be made after working with your internet service provider to determine the cause of slow speeds. Keep in mind that if you do purchase these items from a retailer that is not your provider, you may have difficulty getting technical support from your ISP in the future. You may need to work with the seller or manufacturer of the router or devices if they malfunction.

Final Word

Nobody wants to pay for Internet service that under-delivers. At the same time, you don't want to pay for unnecessary services, equipment or more bandwidth than your household really needs. It's critical to investigate and address any issues with your service that are not related to your router before making further decisions about your speed issues.

In many cases, problems with Wi-Fi signals are related to poor router placement and, in some cases, very thick walls that inhibit signals. These issues are often addressed by placing the router in a central location and, if necessary adding additional signal boosters around your home.

Help from Real People

We partner with a US-based company with live tech support experts available 24/7. Take advantage of a $1 one-week trial membership and chat with an expert now.
Chat With A Help Expert

Why Did GetHuman Write "How to Boost My Wi-Fi Signal Strength?"?

After thousands of Comcast customers came to GetHuman in search of an answer to this problem (and many others), we decided it was time to publish instructions. So we put together How to Boost My Wi-Fi Signal Strength? to try to help. It takes time to get through these steps according to other users, including time spent working through each step and contacting Comcast if necessary. Best of luck and please let us know if you successfully resolve your issue with guidance from this page.

Why does GetHuman Write How-to Guides for Comcast Problems?

GetHuman has been working for over 10 years on sourcing information about big organizations like Comcast in order to help customers resolve customer service issues faster. We started with contact information and fastest ways to reach a human at big companies. Particularly ones with slow or complicated IVR or phone menu systems. Or companies that have self-serve help forums instead of a customer service department. From there, we realized that consumers still needed more detailed help solving the most common problems, so we expanded to this set of guides, which grows every day. And if you spot any issues with our How to Boost My Wi-Fi Signal Strength? guide, please let us know by sending us feedback. We want to be as helpful as possible. If you appreciated this guide, please share it with your favorite people. Our free information and tools is powered by you, the customer. The more people that use it, the better it gets.

Comcast

Speak to An Expert Now

We partner with a US-based expert help site to provide you with tech support 24/7. Enjoy a $1 one-week trial membership and chat with a live expert now.
Get Live Expert Help
Asked 5 months ago
Updated 5 months ago
Viewed 51,481 times
Comcast
comcast signal strength
fios signal strength
boost wifi signal

What customers are saying about this and similar problems

Looking to increase my internet upload speed to *** Mbps
Being charged too much for my bill
Looking for help with Xfinity account, don't have a current account nuumber.
I have an appointment to install service on Thursday June, **th I need to know what equ...
purchased video is not playing
Was this page helpful? If so, please share!
Sharing is what powers GetHuman's free customer service contact information and tools. You can help!