How Do I Downgrade My Dropbox Account?

This article discusses the steps needed to downgrade a Dropbox account. It shares the different steps to take with an individual plan, a family plan, or a business plan. This article also shares that cancelling a Dropbox plan is not the same as deleting a Dropbox account.

How Do I Downgrade My Dropbox Account?

Dropbox is a cloud-based storage system that is available to anyone who has access to the internet. This service is popular with users because it allows users to save content as well as share files with others. You may wish to downgrade from your paid account to a free account. To do this you need to cancel your current plan which you can do at any time. Cancelling your paid Dropbox account puts you on the Basic plan. When you downgrade, you're not deleting your account, you're just switching plans. Depending on which plan you're on there are specific steps you need to take to downgrade. If you have any questions, reach out to Dropbox.

    Steps to Take to Downgrade an Individual Dropbox Account

    1. Your first step is to sign into your Dropbox account which can be found on the Dropbox website.

    2. Find your avatar, which will be either your profile picture or initials and located in the top corner. Click on it.

    3. Click on Settings.

    4. Next you need to click on Plan.

    5. You should see Cancel plan at the bottom of this page. If you don't see Cancel plan, this probably means you used a mobile device to purchase your plan. In that case, simply cancel Dropbox from the app store on your device.

    6. You will need to choose and select your reason for cancelling at this point.

    7. Once you have done this you need to click Continue Cancelling.

    8. Make sure you check your email because Dropbox will send you an email to confirm that your subscription has been cancelled.

    If you have questions regarding these steps, contact Dropbox.

    Steps to Take to Downgrade a Family Plan Dropbox Account

    To downgrade a Family Plan Dropbox Account, you follow the same steps as listed above. However, there are a few things worth noting:

    1. The downgrade process will affect everyone on the plan, both the family manager as well as the members. All who are on the Family Plan will be downgraded to an individual, free Basic plan.

    2. The Family Room folder will still be accessible by all members of the Family Plan account.

    3.Everyone will also still have access to all files and folders, their own as well as those that were shared.

    If you need to speak to someone about downgrading your Dropbox account, reach out to Dropbox.

    Steps to Take to Downgrade a Business Plan Dropbox Account

    Downgrading from a Business Plan Dropbox Account requires you to complete the following steps:

    1. You first need to sign into your Dropbox account using your admin account credentials.

    2. The next step is to click the Admin console which will be located in the sidebar on the left.

    3. From this same left sidebar you will need to click Billing.

    4. Scroll until you see Cancel Plan. Click on Cancel Plan.

    5. At this point you will be prompted to click on the reason you are cancelling.

    6. Click Continue with Cancellation.

    7. When you see Please Acknowledge the Following, you will need to check all the boxes.

    8. The final step is to click Complete Cancellation.

    If you need any assistance with canceling your Business Dropbox Account, contact Dropbox.

    Help from Real People

    We partner with a US-based company with live tech support experts available 24/7. Take advantage of a $1 one-week trial membership and chat with an expert now.
    Chat With A Help Expert

    Why Did GetHuman Write "How Do I Downgrade My Dropbox Account?"?

    After thousands of Dropbox customers came to GetHuman in search of an answer to this problem (and many others), we decided it was time to publish instructions. So we put together How Do I Downgrade My Dropbox Account? to try to help. It takes time to get through these steps according to other users, including time spent working through each step and contacting Dropbox if necessary. Best of luck and please let us know if you successfully resolve your issue with guidance from this page.

    Why does GetHuman Write How-to Guides for Dropbox Problems?

    GetHuman has been working for over 10 years on sourcing information about big organizations like Dropbox in order to help customers resolve customer service issues faster. We started with contact information and fastest ways to reach a human at big companies. Particularly ones with slow or complicated IVR or phone menu systems. Or companies that have self-serve help forums instead of a customer service department. From there, we realized that consumers still needed more detailed help solving the most common problems, so we expanded to this set of guides, which grows every day. And if you spot any issues with our How Do I Downgrade My Dropbox Account? guide, please let us know by sending us feedback. We want to be as helpful as possible. If you appreciated this guide, please share it with your favorite people. Our free information and tools is powered by you, the customer. The more people that use it, the better it gets.

    Dropbox

    Speak to An Expert Now

    We partner with a US-based expert help site to provide you with tech support 24/7. Enjoy a $1 one-week trial membership and chat with a live expert now.
    Get Live Expert Help
    Asked 2 months ago
    Updated 2 months ago
    Viewed 111,030 times
    Dropbox
    Dropbox downgrade plan
    change dropbox plan

    What customers are saying about this and similar problems

    The dropbox folder in Macbook air has disappeared from favorites.*There don't seem tobe...
    I do not remember my password and too my email. I only known my user mame Is Ferchita*f...
    I need to know when my account was signed into in **** for legal reasons. My email for...
    I keep getting emails from dropbox saying I have too much in my free dropbox and it has...
    Hi, I have a Dropbox account with my personal email, but the phone number I’ve register...
    Was this page helpful? If so, please share!
    Sharing is what powers GetHuman's free customer service contact information and tools. You can help!