How do I delete my Gmail account forever?

If you no longer want or use your Gmail account, it's best to delete it permanently to keep it from being accessed. Follow these steps to delete your account forever.

Whether it's because you want to get rid of that embarrassing email address you made years ago, or you have upgraded to a different email provider, deleting your Gmail account forever is quite simple. Deleting your account will delete all of your messages and emails. However, there is an option to delete your Gmail account and retain access to YouTube and your Google accounts.

Just follow the following steps to delete your Gmail account forever:

  1. Go to https://mail.google.com/mail/u/0/#inbox

  2. Log onto your account with your email address and password.

  3. In the top right corner of the screen will be an icon that is made up for dots in a 3x3 square. Click on that and select 'Account' in the top left corner of the drop-down selections. Your account will be easy to spot as it has your Gmail profile picture as the thumbnail.

  4. You will be redirected to a new page. Under the list of options on the left side of the screen, select 'Data & Personalization.'

  5. Scroll down the page until you see the box titled 'Download, delete or make a plan for your data.'

  6. Select the third option displayed: 'Delete a service or your account.' It states that you can do this if you no longer use a service or your account.

  7. At this point, you can choose one of two options. Delete your Google Service or Delete your Google Account.

Delete a Google Service

  1. Deleting a Google service means you can delete specific aspects of your account while leaving others. This option allows you to delete your Gmail account but retain access to other services, such as YouTube. If that is what you prefer, select 'Delete a Service.'

  2. You will be redirected to sign in again into your Gmail account with your email and password.

  3. You can select which service you would like to delete. Beside 'Gmail' select the trash can icon.

  4. A popup window will appear with all the details of what will be deleted (i.e. your messages, emails, etc.)

  5. Confirm by selecting 'Delete Gmail.'

Delete your Google Account

  1. Deleting a Google Account means you will permanently delete your Google Account and all your data (emails and photos) and the services attached to the account (YouTube, Google+ profile, Play Games).

  2. If this is the option you would like to proceed with, select 'Delete your account.'

  3. You will be redirected to sign in again into your Gmail account with your email and password.

  4. There will be a list of items you will be permanently deleting. This includes your Google Drive files, Gmail account, photos, YouTube account, Gmail calendar, Chrome synced bookmarks, contacts, Google Pay, Google Play Apps and Digital Content, Google+ account, and more.

    1. Note before your account is deleted, you should use up your Google Pay or Play balance. You can check your balance at pay.google.com.

  5. At the very bottom of the screen, you will be required to check two boxes. These boxes confirm that you understand you are responsible for any outstanding charges linked to your account and confirming you want to permanently delete your account and all of its data.

A few things to note:

  1. Deleting your Gmail account will not free up your username for someone else to use. Nobody will ever be able to use that email username again, including yourself.

  2. The emails you sent will still exist in recipients' inboxes unless they have deleted their Gmail accounts too.

  3. You have a window opportunity of a few weeks to retrieve your Gmail account if you change your mind. However, after a couple of weeks, you will not be able to ever retrieve the account.

How do I delete my Gmail account forever?

Why Did GetHuman Write "How do I delete my Gmail account forever?"?

After thousands of Gmail customers came to GetHuman in search of an answer to this problem (and many others), we decided it was time to publish instructions. So we put together How do I delete my Gmail account forever? to try to help. It takes time to get through these steps according to other users, including time spent working through each step and contacting Gmail if necessary. Best of luck and please let us know if you successfully resolve your issue with guidance from this page.

Why does GetHuman Write How-to Guides for Gmail Problems?

GetHuman has been working for over 10 years on sourcing information about big organizations like Gmail in order to help customers resolve customer service issues faster. We started with contact information and fastest ways to reach a human at big companies. Particularly ones with slow or complicated IVR or phone menu systems. Or companies that have self-serve help forums instead of a customer service department. From there, we realized that consumers still needed more detailed help solving the most common problems, so we expanded to this set of guides, which grows every day. And if you spot any issues with our How do I delete my Gmail account forever? guide, please let us know by sending us feedback. We want to be as helpful as possible. If you appreciated this guide, please share it with your favorite people. Our free information and tools is powered by you, the customer. The more people that use it, the better it gets.

Gmail

Asked 4 months ago
Viewed 1,663 times
Gmail
delete gmail
close gmail account
gmail customer service
Update Account Info

What customers are saying about this and similar problems

Was this page helpful? If so, please share!
Sharing is what powers GetHuman's free reviews, tools and information. You can help!