切线真的省钱吗?

剪线可以降低成本,特别是如果您对流媒体服务的使用持谨慎态度时。但是,切断电源线可能很困难,而且,如果您希望保留电缆服务,则可以与电缆公司合作以保持所有服务(包括电缆)的可用性。否则,准备一次性投资电子产品,例如数字天线,智能电视或流媒体播放器。

如果您需要减少家庭开支,您可能已经考虑过取消有线电视服务。如今,很多人都在这样做,并且借助流媒体服务,比以往任何时候都更容易获得娱乐,而不必每月支付高昂的有线电视费用。

确实,剪断电线可以节省您的钱,但是这样做并不总是像您想的那样容易。有线电视公司的定价以及流媒体服务成本的不断上涨,从长远来看实际上很难实现节省。

如果您选择削减有线电视服务,则不仅需要制定与有线电视公司打交道的战略,而且还需要在不使用有线电视服务的情况下管理娱乐成本。在另一方面,您可能还会发现可以省钱而无需切断电源线。

什么是剪线?

如果您有有线电视,则您的家庭有一条从户外伸入的电缆。这些电缆将您连接到本地电缆提供商的网络。当您结束服务时,电缆公司最终将退出并切断电线。

在线流媒体服务的兴起导致许多消费者停止有线计划,并依靠家庭互联网连接流式传输实时和点播视频内容,包括传统和有线网络以及仅流媒体的应用程序和平台。通常,切断电源线的决定是一项预算决定:电缆服务的价格可能昂贵,并且流媒体娱乐甚至使用标准的电视天线并将电视收看限制在本地电视台可能更便宜。

剪线技术

一家人切断电源线后,可以通过以下三种方式观看电视节目:

1.首先是购买数字电视天线并将其连接到标准电视机。对于那些只想收看免费的本地网络并且不想投资所谓的智能电视(例如LGSamsung生产的智能电视)的人来说,这是一个非常便宜的选择。

2.购买流媒体设备:可以将流媒体播放器(例如Amazon的Fire TV, RokuApple TV)连接到电视,以通过Internet连接进行流媒体播放。

3.购买智能电视:智能电视上装有应用程序,您可以使用这些应用程序通过各种服务和平台流式传输实时节目和点播节目。有些是免费的,而另一些则需要您付费。也可以将视频从移动设备(例如手机)流式传输到智能电视上。

为什么剪线是一个挑战

鉴于可用的流媒体选项种类繁多,因此切断线缆似乎是理所当然的事情:为什么在通过家庭Internet或移动设备流媒体娱乐一样容易的情况下,为什么要花钱购买电缆?

但是,有两个因素可能会导致中断电缆服务成为一个挑战。首先是访问本地编程。如果您没有看广播电视那么多的话,这可能不是一个大问题。但是,如果您喜欢观看本地频道,其中可能包括本地新闻和脱口秀节目,请确保在中断有线电视服务后,寻找流媒体播放节目的选项。即使您通常不看广播电视,在紧急情况下也可能希望访问本地节目。 (为您的家庭购买应急收音机可以达到这个目的。)

第二个问题通常更难克服。如果家庭的互联网或座机电话通过电缆公司连接,则取消电缆后,您可能会发现很难节省任何费用。原因是这些公司将您的服务捆绑在一起。当您要求他们取消电缆时,客户服务代表可能会告诉您,由于您使用的是捆绑销售的特殊包装,因此,如果取消电缆,您将看不到任何实际节省。

您的选择将取决于您所在地区其他电信提供商的可用性。如果您选择公司,则可以尝试告诉当前的提供商您正准备参加竞争。届时,客户服务代表或客户保留专家可能会退后并以较低的价格向您提供新合同。如果代表持坚定立场,您可能只需要取消服务并转到新的提供者即可。

如果您在该地区没有Internet服务提供商的选择,那么您可能必须坚持不懈。与公司交谈时不要放弃,您甚至可能希望将自己的不满发布到社交媒体(例如TwitterFacebook)上。如果您可以在工作场所访问Internet,您甚至可能想要完全取消您的服务,这要依靠您的移动数据计划来在家中进行Internet和娱乐。一个月后,请致电电信提供商并要求签署仅适用于Internet的协议。

流媒体服务的高昂成本

另一个考虑因素是流服务的成本。 HuluYouTubeTV等服务都可以通过一系列网络提供实时和点播节目,每月费用可能高达60美元。尽管与许多电缆计划相比,这是便宜的,但许多家庭可能很难满足这笔费用。的确,这些服务非常全面,但是某些流网络可能仅需额外付费才能使用。

如果您选择坚持通过互联网公司提供的免费流媒体服务,则可能仍会订阅多种点播流媒体服务,例如Netflix 。多个订阅的费用可能会加起来,从而节省您的费用。

剪线的替代品

尽管存在一些潜在的成本和缺点,但许多人还是对中断电缆服务的决定感到满意。这些人通常是那些花时间了解他们的选择,选择满足他们需求的流媒体服务并拥有无缝流内容的最新智能电视的人。 (当然,还有其他的断线钳子集,他们只是决定放弃看电视,或者选择了本地广播以及移动流媒体或DVD。)

如果不确定是否适合剪线,可以采取以下措施来降低电缆服务的成本:

交换供应商

如上所述,交换电缆公司利用促销交易可以是降低成本的有效方法。但是,此选项有其缺点:电缆公司因取消困难而耗时而著称:您必须致电取消,您将被带到“保留专家”,后者会通过询问很多来破坏您的请求问题,并试图说服您与服务提供者保持联系。

取消后,您将不得不退还电缆箱和其他设备。您可能还需要安排新电缆公司的技术人员来访,才能将您连接到新服务。

另一个要考虑的问题是,与新提供商的促销协议到期后,您可能会发现自己为电缆服务支付了高额费用。您必须决定是否定期更换提供商是一种经济高效的选择。

协商新价格

另一种选择是与您的有线电视公司联系,并要求他们延长您当前的促销套餐或减少您当前支付的金额。但是,由于许多电缆公司拒绝做出这些让步,因此请保持顽强。威胁要取消您的所有服务,包括Internet,座机电话或家庭安全服务,尽管大多数客户服务代表都习惯于此策略,并在与您交谈时对其加以打折,但这种威胁可能会起作用。

降级您的服务

另一个选择是查看您的电缆公司是否愿意降级您的服务包。可以通过以下两种方式之一来完成此操作:

1.降级电缆包装。如果您拥有大量的渠道以及高级选项,请考虑是否需要如此众多的选择。可能会有一些基本的软件包可以满足您的需求,但价格较低。

2.降低您的Internet速度。如果您想保持电缆连接,并且您的家庭不做很多游戏或流媒体播放,则不需要您当前正在购买的“快速的互联网”。 对适合您家庭的速度进行一些研究,并询问您的提供者有关降低速度的信息。仅此一项,您每月就可以节省大量资金。

最后的话

如果您花时间了解自己的娱乐需求,可以节省大量的剪线费用。不幸的是,许多消费者没有这样做,最终不得不在流媒体服务上花费大量资金,最终导致有线电视的月成本接近。在决定削减或重新启动有线服务之前,请研究本地选项并了解新型智能电视的功能。

Help from Real People

We partner with a US-based company with live tech support experts available 24/7. Take advantage of a $1 one-week trial membership and chat with an expert now.
Chat With A Help Expert

Why Did GetHuman Write "切线真的省钱吗?"?

在成千上万的Hulu客户来到GetHuman寻求针对此问题(以及许多其他问题)的答案之后,我们认为是时候发布说明了。因此,我们将切线真的省钱吗?组合在一起以尝试提供帮助。根据其他用户来完成这些步骤需要花费时间,包括花费在完成每个步骤和联系Hulu(如有必要)上的时间。祝您好运,如果您通过此页面上的指南成功解决了问题,请告诉我们。

Why does GetHuman Write How-to Guides for Hulu Problems?

为了帮助客户更快地解决客户服务问题,GetHuman致力于寻找诸如Hulu之类的大型组织的信息已有10多年的历史了。我们从联系信息开始,并以最快的方式与大公司联系。特别是IVR或电话菜单系统缓慢或复杂的系统。或拥有自助服务论坛而不是客户服务部门的公司。从那里,我们意识到消费者仍然需要更详细的帮助来解决最常见的问题,因此我们扩展到了这一指南,并且这一指南每天都在增长。并且,如果您发现我们的切线真的省钱吗?指南存在任何问题,请通过向我们发送反馈来告知我们。我们希望尽可能提供帮助。如果您喜欢本指南,请与您最喜欢的人分享。我们的免费信息和工具由您(客户)提供支持。使用它的人越多,获得的效果就越好。

Hulu

Speak to An Expert Now

We partner with a US-based expert help site to provide you with tech support 24/7. Enjoy a $1 one-week trial membership and chat with a live expert now.
Get Live Expert Help
Asked il y a 5 mois
Updated il y a 5 mois
Viewed 205,295 times
Hulu
LG线切割
三星线切割
苹果线切割
亚马逊线切割
Netflix进行音频切割
Roku切割线
用Hulu进行绳切割
用YouTubeTV剪线

What customers are saying about this and similar problems

I am unable to cancel my subscription online. Each time I try, “sorry for the inconveni...
Withdrawal of kes **** am not yet received,,, kindly help me to get the same amount in...
I just need to reset my password but I didn’t receive the email to reset it
I have never subscribed to Hulu, but my credit card is being charged. I need this cance...
Trying to setup a Hulu account at a secondary locational
Was this page helpful? If so, please share!
Sharing is what powers GetHuman's free customer service contact information and tools. You can help!

Does Cord-Cutting Actually Save Money?

Cord-cutting can reduce costs, particularly if you are judicious about your use of streaming services. Cutting the cord can be difficult, however, and if you prefer to keep cable service there may be ways of working with your cable company to keep all services, including cable, available. Otherwise, prepare for a one-time investment in electronics, such as a digital antenna, Smart TV, or streaming player.

If you need to cut your household expenses, you've probably thought of canceling your cable TV service. A lot of people are doing just that these days, and with streaming services it is easier than ever before to remain entertained without having to pay high cable bills every month.

While it is true that cutting the cord can save you money, it isn't always as easy to do so as you may think. Cable company pricing along with the increasing costs of streaming services can make it hard to actually realize savings in the long run.

If you choose to cut your cable service, you will need to develop a strategy not only for dealing with your cable company but managing entertainment costs without cable service. On the flip side, you may also find that you can save money without cutting the cord.

What is Cord-Cutting?

If you have cable television, your household has a cable running into it from outdoors. These cables connect you to your local cable provider's network. When you end your service, eventually the cable company will come out and cut the cord.

The rise of online streaming services has led many consumers to discontinue their cable plans and rely on their household Internet connections to stream live and on-demand video content, which includes both traditional and cable networks as well as streaming-only apps and platforms. Typically, the decision to cut the cord is made as a budgetary decision: Cable service can be expensive and it can be cheaper to stream entertainment or even use a standard TV antenna and restrict television watching to local stations.

Cord-Cutting Technology

Once a household cuts the cord, it has three options for watching television:

1. The first is to purchase a digital television antenna and attach it to a standard TV set. This is a very inexpensive option for those who simply want to watch free, local networks and who do not wish to invest in a so-called smart TV, such as those produced by LG and Samsung.

2. Purchase a streaming device: Streaming players, such as Amazon's Fire TV, Roku, and Apple TV can be connected to your television for streaming through your Internet connection.

3. Purchase a Smart TV: Smart TVs are programmed with apps that you can use to stream live and on-demand programming from a range of services and platforms. Some are free, while others require you to pay for a subscription. It is also possible to stream video from a mobile device (such as a cell phone) onto your smart TV.

Why Cord-Cutting Is a Challenge

Given the enormous range of streaming options available, it may seem like cord-cutting is a no-brainer: Why spend money on cable when it's just as easy to stream entertainment through home Internet or mobile devices?

There are, however, two factors that can make discontinuing cable service a challenge. The first is accessing local programming. If you don't watch broadcast television that much, this may not be a significant concern. But if you do like to watch local channels, which might include local news and talk shows, be sure to look into options for streaming the shows once you've discontinued your cable service. Even if you don't typically watch broadcast television, you may want to have access to local programming in case of emergencies. (Purchasing an emergency radio for your home can serve that purpose.)

The second issue is often the more difficult to overcome. If your household's Internet or landline phone connections are through your cable company, You may find it difficult to see any savings once you cancel cable. The reason is that these companies bundle your services together. When you ask them to cancel the cable, the customer service representative will likely tell you that since you are on a special bundled package, you won't see any real savings if you cancel your cable.

Your options will depend on the availability of other telecommunications providers in your area. If you have your choice of companies, you could try telling your current provider that you are moving to the competition. At that point, the customer service representative or retention specialist may back down and offer you a new contract at a lower rate. If the representative holds firm, you may simply have to cancel service and move to a new provider.

If you do not have a choice of Internet service providers in your area, you may have to be more persistent. Don't give up when talking to the company and you may even want to post your grievances to social media, such as Twitter and Facebook. If you have access to the Internet at your workplace, you may even want to cancel your services altogether, relying on your mobile data plan for Internet and entertainment at home. After a month, call the telecommunications provider and ask to sign up for an Internet-only deal.

The High Cost of Streaming Services

Another consideration is cost of streaming services. Services like Hulu and YouTubeTV, both of which offer live and on-demand programming from a range of networks, can cost upwards of $60 per month. While this is cheap when compared to many cable plans, it is an expense that many households may have trouble meeting. It is also true that these services are very comprehensive but some streaming networks may only be available at an extra charge.

If you opt to stick with the free streaming available through your Internet company, you may still find yourself subscribing to multiple on-demand streaming services such as Netflix. The cost of several subscriptions can add up, reducing your savings.

Alternatives to Cord-Cutting

Despite some of the hidden costs and disadvantages, many people are happy with their decision to discontinue cable service. These individuals are usually those who took the time to understand their options, select streaming services that met their needs, and have up-to-date smart TVs that seamlessly stream content. (There is, of course, another subset of cord-cutters who simply decided to give up TV watching or who opted for local broadcasts plus mobile streaming or DVDs.)

If you aren't sure whether cord-cutting is right for you, there are a few things that you could do to reduce the cost of your cable service:

Switch Providers

As noted above, switching cable companies to take advantage of promotional deals can be an effective way of keeping costs down. This option has its drawbacks, however: Cable companies have a reputation for making cancellation difficult and time-consuming: You have to call to cancel and you will be directed to a "retention specialist" who will attempt to derail your request by asking a lot of questions and trying to persuade you to stay with your provider.

After cancelation, you will have to return your cable box and other equipment. You may also have to schedule a technician visit from your new cable company to connect you to your new service.

Another issue to consider is that once your promotional deal with your new provider expires, you may find yourself paying a high rate for cable service. You'll have to decide if regularly switching providers is a cost-effective option.

Negotiate a New Rate

Another option is to contact your cable company and request that they extend your current promotional package or reduce the amount that you are currently paying. Prepare to be tenacious, however, as many cable companies resist making these concessions. Threatening to cancel all of your services, including Internet, landline phone or home security service may work, though most customer service representatives are used to this tactic and discount it when speaking with you.

Downgrade Your Service

Another option is to see if your cable company is willing to downgrade your service package. This can be done in one of two ways:

1. Downgrade your cable package. If you have a huge number of channels, as well as premium options, consider whether you need such a huge selection. There may be a basic package available that meets your needs but at a lower price point.

2. Reduce your Internet speeds. If you want to keep cable and your household doesn't do a lot of gaming or streaming, you do not need the "blazing fast Internet" that you are currently paying for. Do some research on appropriate speeds for your household and ask your provider about downgrading your speed. You may be able to save a significant amount of money each month from this change alone.

The Final Word

Cord-cutting savings can be considerable if you take the time to understand your entertainment needs. Unfortunately, many consumers don't do this and end up having to spend a great deal of money on streaming services that end up approaching the monthly cost of cable. Research local options and learn about the capabilities of new smart TVs before making a decision to cut or re-start cable service.

Help from Real People

We partner with a US-based company with live tech support experts available 24/7. Take advantage of a $1 one-week trial membership and chat with an expert now.
Chat With A Help Expert

Why Did GetHuman Write "Does Cord-Cutting Actually Save Money?"?

After thousands of Hulu customers came to GetHuman in search of an answer to this problem (and many others), we decided it was time to publish instructions. So we put together Does Cord-Cutting Actually Save Money? to try to help. It takes time to get through these steps according to other users, including time spent working through each step and contacting Hulu if necessary. Best of luck and please let us know if you successfully resolve your issue with guidance from this page.

Why does GetHuman Write How-to Guides for Hulu Problems?

GetHuman has been working for over 10 years on sourcing information about big organizations like Hulu in order to help customers resolve customer service issues faster. We started with contact information and fastest ways to reach a human at big companies. Particularly ones with slow or complicated IVR or phone menu systems. Or companies that have self-serve help forums instead of a customer service department. From there, we realized that consumers still needed more detailed help solving the most common problems, so we expanded to this set of guides, which grows every day. And if you spot any issues with our Does Cord-Cutting Actually Save Money? guide, please let us know by sending us feedback. We want to be as helpful as possible. If you appreciated this guide, please share it with your favorite people. Our free information and tools is powered by you, the customer. The more people that use it, the better it gets.

Hulu

Speak to An Expert Now

We partner with a US-based expert help site to provide you with tech support 24/7. Enjoy a $1 one-week trial membership and chat with a live expert now.
Get Live Expert Help
Asked 2 months ago
Updated 2 months ago
Viewed 89,366 times
Hulu
cord cutting with LG
cord cutting with Samsung
cord cutting with Apple
cord cutting with Amazon
cord cutting with Netflix
cord cutting with Roku
cord cutting with Hulu
cord cutting with YouTubeTV

What customers are saying about this and similar problems

My birthday for my account is incorrect and should be updated to January **, ****
my log in has been blocked!!!
Can’t get the Hulu app on my iPhone. It says location needed.
I am and have been paying for and have been Hulu member for quite some time. However I...
I have not been able to update my Hulu. It use to show up, but haven't in a while.
Was this page helpful? If so, please share!
Sharing is what powers GetHuman's free customer service contact information and tools. You can help!