LinkedIn gives you the option to deactivate your account temporarily or permanently. You cannot really disable your account for some time but you can make your account anonymous. This way, you have control of what people can see when looking at your profile information through search engines. You may change your public profile settings to 'visible to no one.' Follow these steps if you do not want your details to appear when one conducts a search;
Closing Your LinkedIn Account Permanently
If the option of making your account invisible temporarily does not seem enough for you, you have the option of permanently closing your profile. If your account is Premium, it is possible to cancel it without losing the basic account. This means that you get to keep your profile information and connections. Follow these steps to close your LinkedIn account.
Before closing your account, ensure that you think about the decision carefully. Remember that your account will no longer be seen on LinkedIn once you delete it. This, however, does not mean that the information will automatically disappear from the internet. LinkedIn has no control over search engines such as Google and Bing. They may continue to display your information temporarily.
Deleting your account will cause you to lose all the endorsements and recommendations that your profile earned you. You will also lose all the data on your account. Download your data before completing the process.
Those who have premium memberships need to know that they need to resolve their accounts or they won't be able to close their basic LinkedIn accounts.
When You Change Your Mind About Closing the Account
If you change your mind about closing your account, you have 20 days to reopen it. You will, however, not be able to recover the lost endorsements and recommendations, followings, and group memberships. Follow these steps to reopen your account.
Reducing The Number of Notifications and Emails You Receive
If the main reason why you want to delete your LinkedIn is the overwhelming number of emails and notifications, you can reduce them without having to delete your account. You simply need to adjust the frequency of emails and notifications to suit your preference. Go to your settings and privacy option and then the communication tab. You can reduce group digest emails, LinkedIn announcements, and other notifications.
If you are using the mobile app, the settings page is at the top right of your profile page. '
If you want to close an account, you must be able to access it. This means that you should remember the password. If you do not remember your password, you can reset it or contact LinkedIn's support team for help.
If you follow these steps, you should be able to make your LinkedIn account inactive.
After thousands of LinkedIn customers came to GetHuman in search of an answer to this problem (and many others), we decided it was time to publish instructions. So we put together How Do I Make My Linkedin Account Inactive? to try to help. It takes time to get through these steps according to other users, including time spent working through each step and contacting LinkedIn if necessary. Best of luck and please let us know if you successfully resolve your issue with guidance from this page.
GetHuman has been working for over 10 years on sourcing information about big organizations like LinkedIn in order to help customers resolve customer service issues faster. We started with contact information and fastest ways to reach a human at big companies. Particularly ones with slow or complicated IVR or phone menu systems. Or companies that have self-serve help forums instead of a customer service department. From there, we realized that consumers still needed more detailed help solving the most common problems, so we expanded to this set of guides, which grows every day. And if you spot any issues with our How Do I Make My Linkedin Account Inactive? guide, please let us know by sending us feedback. We want to be as helpful as possible. If you appreciated this guide, please share it with your favorite people. Our free information and tools is powered by you, the customer. The more people that use it, the better it gets.