Do you want to cancel your Netflix subscription? Whether you are looking into other alternatives or simply don't want to keep your Netflix, it is possible to cancel it in a few simple steps. Most streaming services have complicated cancellation procedures but Netflix makes things simple. Follow these steps to cancel your account.
When you complete the process, you will be fully unsubscribed from Netflix. Once you unsubscribe, you can continue to use your existing subscription until your billing period comes to an end.
If you are on a 4K Premium or HD Standard plan, consider downgrading your account to a standard plan. It may help you save some money without losing access to your account.
Your profile will be visible for up to 10 months after you cancel your subscription. You will also be able to see your profile, account details, and your favorite shows.
Will I be Charged for a Cancelled Netflix?
You will not be charged for any membership charges if you have cancelled your subscription. You can continue to watch until your billing period is over. Your account will cancel automatically when the billing period is over.
What Happens if You Have a Gift Card or Promotional Balance?
If you cancel your account while you still have a gift card or promotional balance, your account will only be cancelled once your promotional balance or Netflix Gift Card is completely used up. Your cancellation will be effected as soon as your balance runs out.
There are no restrictions as to when you can cancel your subscription. You can do it any time you want.
Cancelling Your Netflix Free Trial
If you have a month's free trial on Netflix, you may choose not to get a paid subscription. You can cancel your Netflix free trial the same way you cancel a normal transaction.
If you forget to cancel your free trial before the trial period runs out, you will automatically be charged for a month of streaming. You will not receive any reminder from Netflix when your free trial period is about to expire.
Removing Your Netflix Profile
If you want to delete your profile from Netflix, the process is different from cancelling your account. Go to your account icon and select the option 'Manage Profile.'
You will see various profile icons with a pencil symbol at the bottom left corner. Click on the icon of the account you want to edit. You may change details of your account including the name of your profile, icon image, and language. If you have children, you can install mature content filters. This will ensure that your children only see kid-friendly shows. You also get the option of deleting your profile here. Deleting your entire account deletes the viewing history from your profile.
Netflix allows you to delete your Netflix viewing history. This way, your titles will be hidden. You need to click on your profile and then on 'My Activity.' This option will provide you with a list of all your recent activity. The 'Hide all' button allows you to remove your viewing history. If you choose this activity, remember that it is impossible to undo it. The option reduces the viewing accuracy of your recommendations.
If you have trouble canceling your Netflix account, contact the Netflix customer support team for help. Otherwise, the tips outlined above should help you cancel your Netflix subscription.