什么是有线电视的最佳替代品?

有线电视有许多选择,包括本地广播网络,流媒体盒以及通过Internet或移动数据计划访问流媒体节目和服务。在许多情况下,并非所有家庭都已经拥有使用电缆替代品所需的设备。消费者在切断电源线之前应小心行事,精打细算,选择合适的设备。

不久前,大多数家庭都依靠有线电视来可靠地访问本地,国家和国际节目,以及电影和特别活动。然而,近年来有线电视服务的价格飞涨,引起许多人质疑有线电视是否真正值得。使事情变得复杂的是,现在可以通过互联网连接或移动数据计划来流式传输电视节目。

如果您正在考虑切断电源线,或者刚搬到新的地方并且不确定是否要打扰电缆服务,那么最好了解有线电视的替代品,以便您可以自己,家人和预算的最佳决定。注意您的观看习惯和预算,对于做出正确的选择至关重要。

第一件事:检查电视

在决定使用电缆替代品之前,您需要了解电视机的功能。如果您有一台旧电视,虽然可以将其连接到数字天线或DVD播放器,但可能无法连接到Internet流服务或移动设备。

新型电视则是另一回事:所谓的智能电视或智能电视已经进行了预编程,可以播放来自各种应用程序和服务的节目,并且在切断电缆后最容易使用。如果您有一台较新的电视,但不是智能电视,则仍可以将电视连接到流媒体盒,例如RokuApple TV

本地广播

许多人使用电缆已经很久了,以至于他们忘记了当地电视台仍在播放直播电视。根据您的居住地,您可能免费拥有十几个或更多的VHF和UHF频道,而无需拥有数字天线。此外,许多人认为本地节目,尤其是新闻节目,通常与他们的日常生活更相关。

数字天线的价格约为40美元,可轻松连接到各种电视,包括智能电视。安装后,您将可以免费享受您所在地区的所有可用编程。

对于许多人来说,天线加上DVD或蓝光播放器就足以享受各种节目和娱乐。请记住,公共图书馆经常维护您可以免费享用的DVD的馆藏,从而进一步减少了每月支出。

提示:如果您仍在使用很旧的电视来接收有线信号,请记住,它可能与数字天线不兼容,数字天线在2000年代已成为标准。仍然可能找到数字天线适配器,这将使您可以使用天线引入本地广播信号。如果您无法将电视连接到数字天线并且不愿意购买全新的电视,请考虑查看当地的Craigslist列表,以找到愿意出售或赠送电视的人。这些电视可能足够新,因此可以轻松连接到数字天线。

您的互联网连接或数据计划

如果您在家中具有Internet连接,或者手机具有数据套餐,则可以通过NetflixHuluAmazon Prime等付费服务流式传输一系列程序。还提供免费选项: YouTube的标准服务包括各种视频娱乐以及来自各种提供商的免费流式新闻提要。例如,许多人没有意识到某些国家/地区通过YouTube直播实时英语新闻报道,无需额外付费。法国24是这样的网络之一。

此外,许多主要网络还通过其网站免费提供节目直播。只要您可以访问该网站,就可以享受此编程。唯一要记住的是,您的手机或Internet计划可能会有数据上限,这可能会限制您和您的家人每个月可以访问的节目数量。但是,如果您不经常使用电视观看或观看电视节目,则完全依靠Internet连接或移动数据计划可能是一种经济高效的选择。

提示:某些互联网和手机公司不将首选提供商的数据流计入您的每月数据分配中。请与您的公司联系,并询问他们是否具有上述首选关系,以便您可以更准确地确定是否赞成使用电缆进行串流传输实际上会为您省钱。

关于显示器和智能电视的注意事项:如果您决定完全依赖Internet连接或数据计划,则可能需要使用更大的显示器来进行节目编排,以提供更接近电视机的体验。如果您有智能电视,请记住,您可能需要对其进行编程,以便可以将视频从智能手机应用程序直接流式传输到电视上。

流媒体盒

对于喜欢享受各种视频娱乐的个人和家庭,流媒体盒(例如TiVo ,Apple TV或Roku提供的流媒体盒)已变得非常流行。这些框可让您轻松查找和流式传输您想要用于访问视频内容的任何频道或应用。此外,许多Internet服务提供商也有自己的流媒体盒,并为不愿意注册有线电视的客户提供计划。

但是,在获得流媒体盒之前,您需要做一些研究。您将要确保选择的此框将为您提供您感兴趣的编程类型。此外,如果您已经拥有智能电视,则流媒体盒可能是多余的。

提示:如果您不熟悉智能电视或其他类型的消费类电子产品,则可能需要与Best Buy等知名电子产品零售商联系。前往商店,或给他们打个电话,并寻求帮助以选择智能电视或流媒体盒。坦率地与客户服务代表或商店助理联系,并让他们知道您要切断电缆,并且想要一些可以在家里轻松使用的东西来访问喜欢的电台和节目。

这样做将有助于确保您不会对流式传输服务感到失望,并且每次观看电视时都不必经历很多麻烦。请记住,消费类电子产品零售商希望保留您的业务,他们的代表和销售伙伴可能会向后弯腰以帮助您确保您所购买的设备或电视符合您的需求。

注意事项

在决定中断电缆服务之前,应注意以下几点:

  • 许多市区都有多个广播新闻台,可确保您能够享受各种节目选择。在许多农村地区或小镇中并非总是如此。在决定切断电源线并购买电视天线之前,您需要检查以查看您所在地区可用的电台。
  • 如果您是体育迷,请记住,广播游戏的权利因位置和服务而异。如果观看体育比赛对您很重要,则必须对通过本地电视和流媒体服务进行的事件广播的可访问性进行一些研究。在许多情况下,流媒体服务会收取额外的体育游戏费用。这些费用可能接近您已经为有线电视支付的费用。
  • 同样,请注意基于应用程序的流服务的成本。那里有许多这样的服务,其中一些专门研究利基节目或专门用英语以外的语言广播。虽然这些都是不错的选择,但为多个流媒体应用程序每月支付费用的费用可能会迅速增加。
  • 切断电源线后,您将负责将电缆盒退回给您的提供商。否则,可能会导致向您的帐单添加大量费用。一些电缆提供商会通过电子邮件向您发送邮件标签,您可以使用该邮件标签将设备运回。在其他情况下,您必须自费寄回该盒子,将其带到当地办公室或支付费用以请技术人员出来将其捡起。如果确实将电缆盒带到当地办公室或要求技术人员从您那里取走电缆,请确保您已收到收据,证明您确实已将设备退还。
  • 监视Internet数据的使用可能很困难,并且可能导致令人讨厌的意外,例如,过度使用的巨额账单或连接速度减慢。如果您所在的家庭充满了彩带和游戏玩家,则切断电缆可能不是最佳选择。
  • 如果您要搬到属于房主协会(HOA),退休社区或提供全套服务的公寓/公寓大楼的新房,请检查您的协会费用中是否包含WiFi或您是否有权使用通过物业管理公司或HOA进行团体折扣。接下来,检查是否有任何数据上限。当您考虑使用有线电视值得还是打算使用流媒体服务时,此信息将对您有所帮助。

没有有线电视,许多人都过得很好。关键是要了解您的选择,设备和预算。在进行了一些数学运算并确保可以连接流媒体服务或广播电视之后,您就可以在享受自己喜欢的节目的同时节省金钱。

Help from Real People

We partner with a US-based company with live tech support experts available 24/7. Take advantage of a $1 one-week trial membership and chat with an expert now.
Chat With A Help Expert

Why Did GetHuman Write "什么是有线电视的最佳替代品?"?

在成千上万的Netflix客户来到GetHuman寻求针对此问题(以及许多其他问题)的答案之后,我们认为是时候发布说明了。因此,我们将什么是有线电视的最佳替代品?组合在一起以尝试提供帮助。根据其他用户来完成这些步骤需要花费时间,包括花费在完成每个步骤和联系Netflix(如有必要)上的时间。祝您好运,如果您通过此页面上的指南成功解决了问题,请告诉我们。

Why does GetHuman Write How-to Guides for Netflix Problems?

为了帮助客户更快地解决客户服务问题,GetHuman致力于寻找诸如Netflix之类的大型组织的信息已有10多年的历史了。我们从联系信息开始,并以最快的方式与大公司联系。特别是IVR或电话菜单系统缓慢或复杂的系统。或拥有自助服务论坛而不是客户服务部门的公司。从那里,我们意识到消费者仍然需要更详细的帮助来解决最常见的问题,因此我们扩展到了这一指南,并且这一指南每天都在增长。并且,如果您发现我们的什么是有线电视的最佳替代品?指南存在任何问题,请通过向我们发送反馈来告知我们。我们希望尽可能提供帮助。如果您喜欢本指南,请与您最喜欢的人分享。我们的免费信息和工具由您(客户)提供支持。使用它的人越多,获得的效果就越好。

Netflix

Speak to An Expert Now

We partner with a US-based expert help site to provide you with tech support 24/7. Enjoy a $1 one-week trial membership and chat with a live expert now.
Get Live Expert Help
Asked vor 2 Jahren
Updated vor 2 Jahren
Viewed 32,715 times
Netflix
最佳电缆选择
最佳流媒体服务
netflix流
抛弃电缆的最佳选择
线切割选项
上游流
fubo流
亚马逊Prime Video Streaming Apple Plus Streaming

What customers are saying about this and similar problems

I want my subscription canceled
I want my subscription canceled
I have Netflix thru T-MOBILE why do I continue to get charge
I have Netflix thru T-MOBILE why do I continue to get charge
I need to change my payment date that is auto drafted from my bank checking account. AS...
Was this page helpful? If so, please share!
Sharing is what powers GetHuman's free customer service contact information and tools. You can help!

What's the Best Alternative to Cable TV?

There are many alternatives to cable TV, including local broadcast networks, streaming boxes and accessing streaming shows and services through the Internet or mobile data plans. In many cases, not all, households already have the equipment they need to use cable alternatives. Consumers should tread carefully, crunching numbers and choosing the right equipment before cutting the cord.

Not so long ago, most households relied on cable TV for reliable access to local, national and international programming, along with movies and special events. However, the cost of cable TV service has skyrocketed in recent years, causing many to question whether cable is actually worth the cost. Complicating matters is that is now possible to stream television programming through an Internet connection or mobile data plan.

If you are thinking about cutting the cord, or have just moved to a new area and aren't sure if you want to bother getting cable service, it's a good idea to become aware of the alternatives to cable television so that you can make the best decision for yourself, your family and your budget. Being aware of your viewing habits, as well as your budget, is essential to making the right choice.

First Things First: Check Your TV

Before deciding on an alternative to cable, you'll need to understand the features of your television set. If you have an older television, you may not have the ability to connect to an Internet streaming service or a mobile device, although you will be able to hook it up to a digital antenna or a DVD player.

Newer televisions are a different matter: So-called smart televisions, or smart TVs, are already preprogrammed to stream programming from a variety of applications and services and are the easiest to work with after cutting your cable. If you have a newer television, but one that is not a smart TV, you may still be able to hook your TV up to a streaming box such as Roku or Apple TV.

Local Broadcasting

Many people have had cable for so long that they've forgotten that their local stations are still broadcasting live TV. Depending on where you live, you may have a dozen or more VHF and UHF channels available to you at no cost beyond that of owning a digital antenna. In addition, many people feel that local shows, particularly news programming, are often simply more relevant to their day-to-day lives.

Digital antennas cost about $40 and are easily connected to all kinds of televisions, including smart TVs. After installation, you will be able to enjoy all the programming available in your area for free.

For many people, an antenna, plus a DVD or Blu-ray player, is enough for being able to enjoy a significant range of programming and entertainment. Keep in mind that public libraries often maintain collections of DVDs that you can enjoy for free, further reducing monthly expenses.

Tip: If you are still using a very old television to receive your cable signal, keep in mind that it may not be compatible with digital antennas, which became the standard in the 2000s. It may still be possible to find digital antenna adapters that will make it possible for you to use an antenna to pull in local broadcasting signals. if you are unable to connect your television to a digital antenna and are unwilling to purchase a brand-new TV, consider checking out your local Craigslist listings to find people who are willing to sell or give away their televisions. These televisions may be new enough that they can easily connect to a digital antenna.

Your Internet Connection or Data Plan

if you have an Internet connection at your home, or a data plan with your phone, you can stream a range of programming through paid services, such as Netflix, Hulu, or Amazon Prime. There are free options as well: YouTube's standard service includes a range of video entertainment, as well as free, streaming news feeds from a range of providers. Many people do not realize, for example, that some countries stream live, English language news reporting through YouTube at no additional charge. France 24 is one such network.

In addition, many major networks also stream shows for free via their websites. As long as you can access the website, you will be able to enjoy this programming. The only thing to keep in mind is that your mobile phone or Internet plan may have data caps, which could limit the amount of programming you and your family can access each month. However, if you are an infrequent TV watcher or streamer, relying entirely on your Internet connection or a mobile data plan may be a cost-effective option.

Tip: Some Internet and mobile phone companies don't count streaming from preferred providers against your monthly data allotment. Contact your company and ask if they have any of these preferred relationships so that you can more accurately decide whether cutting cable in favor of streaming will actually save you money.

Note about displays and smart TVs: if you decide to rely entirely on your Internet connection or data plan, you may want to use a larger monitor for screening programming to provide an experience that is closer to using a television set. If you have a smart TV, keep in mind that it may be possible for you to program it so that you can stream videos directly from smartphone apps on to your TV.

Streaming Boxes

For individuals and families who like to enjoy a wide variety of video entertainment, streaming boxes, such as those provided by TiVo, Apple TV or Roku have become very popular. These boxes make it easy to find and stream any channel or app that you like to use for accessing video content. In addition, many Internet service providers also have their own streaming boxes and plans for customers who prefer to not sign up for cable television.

Before getting a streaming box, however, you will want to do some research. You'll want to ensure that this box you choose will provide you with the types of programming that interest you. In addition, if you already have a smart TV, a streaming box may be redundant.

Tip: If you are not familiar with smart TVs or other types of consumer electronics, you may want to get in touch with a well-known electronics retailers such as Best Buy. Visit the store, or give them a call and ask for assistance in selecting a smart TV or streaming box. Be frank with the customer service representative or store associate and let them know that you want to cut your cable and that you want something that can be easily used in your home to access the stations and programs that you enjoy.

Doing this will help ensure that you do not experience disappointment with your streaming service and that you won't have to go through a lot of hassle each time you want to watch your television. Keep in mind that consumer electronics retailers want to keep your business, and their representatives and sales associates will likely bend over backwards to help you make sure that you are getting the exact device or television that meets your needs.

Things to Be Aware Of

There are several things that you should be aware of before making the decision to cut your cable service:

  • Many urban areas are home to multiple broadcast news stations,which ensures that you will be able to enjoy a variety of programming options. This is not always true in many rural areas or small towns. Before deciding to cut the cord and purchase a TV antenna, you'll need to check to see which stations are available in your area.
  • If you are a sports fan, keep in mind that the rights to broadcast games vary by location and service. If watching sports is important to you, you'll have to do some research into the accessibility of event broadcasts through local television and streaming services. In many cases, streaming services charge an additional premium for access to sports games. These costs may approach what you are already paying for cable TV.
  • Similarly, be aware of the cost of app-based streaming services. There are many such services out there, some of them specializing in niche programming or broadcasting exclusively in languages other than English. While these are fantastic options to have, the cost of paying monthly fees for multiple streaming apps can quickly add up.
  • After cutting the cord, you will be responsible for returning your cable box to your provider. Failure to do this can result in a large charge being added to your bill. Some cable providers will email you a mailing label that you can use to ship your equipment back. In other cases, you'll have to mail the box back at your own expense, bring it to a local office or pay a fee to have a technician come out to pick it up. If you do bring your cable box to a local office or ask to have a technician pick it up from you, make sure you get a receipt proving that you did indeed return the device.
  • It can be difficult to monitor the use of Internet data and this can result in nasty surprises, such as a large bill for excessive use or a slowed-down connection. If you are in a household full of streamers and gamers, cutting cable may not be the best option.
  • If you are moving to a new home that is part of a homeowner's association (HOA), a retirement community or a full-service apartment/condo building, check to see if WiFi is included in your association fees or whether you are entitled to a group discount through the property management company or HOA. Next, check to see if there are any data caps. This information will be helpful as you consider whether cable TV is worth it or whether you plan to use streaming services.

Many people are getting by just fine without cable TV. The key is understanding your options, your equipment and your budget. After doing some math and ensuring that you'll be able to connect with streaming services or broadcast television, you'll be able to save money while enjoying the shows you love.

Help from Real People

We partner with a US-based company with live tech support experts available 24/7. Take advantage of a $1 one-week trial membership and chat with an expert now.
Chat With A Help Expert

Why Did GetHuman Write "What's the Best Alternative to Cable TV?"?

After thousands of Netflix customers came to GetHuman in search of an answer to this problem (and many others), we decided it was time to publish instructions. So we put together What's the Best Alternative to Cable TV? to try to help. It takes time to get through these steps according to other users, including time spent working through each step and contacting Netflix if necessary. Best of luck and please let us know if you successfully resolve your issue with guidance from this page.

Why does GetHuman Write How-to Guides for Netflix Problems?

GetHuman has been working for over 10 years on sourcing information about big organizations like Netflix in order to help customers resolve customer service issues faster. We started with contact information and fastest ways to reach a human at big companies. Particularly ones with slow or complicated IVR or phone menu systems. Or companies that have self-serve help forums instead of a customer service department. From there, we realized that consumers still needed more detailed help solving the most common problems, so we expanded to this set of guides, which grows every day. And if you spot any issues with our What's the Best Alternative to Cable TV? guide, please let us know by sending us feedback. We want to be as helpful as possible. If you appreciated this guide, please share it with your favorite people. Our free information and tools is powered by you, the customer. The more people that use it, the better it gets.

Netflix

Speak to An Expert Now

We partner with a US-based expert help site to provide you with tech support 24/7. Enjoy a $1 one-week trial membership and chat with a live expert now.
Get Live Expert Help
Asked 7 months ago
Updated 7 months ago
Viewed 191,154 times
Netflix
best cable option
best streaming service
netflix streaming
best option to ditch cable
cord cutting options
hulu streaming
fubo streaming
amazon prime video streaming apple plus streaming

What customers are saying about this and similar problems

i got double charge i update my account info and tried to watch it and di...
I was charge **** instead of **** why
I try Netflix and almost everything I want requires more money. I am disappointed with...
We paid $*** up front paid till **** why have we been suspended its under james reiffe...
I want to cancel my net flex before first of next month so i won't be billed.
Was this page helpful? If so, please share!
Sharing is what powers GetHuman's free customer service contact information and tools. You can help!