There are many reasons why you may want to delete your Twitter account but you should think through the decision carefully. Social media has changed the nature of human interactions and Twitter is one of the most influential social media platforms. It is an excellent tool for human interaction especially if you like engaging with other users in meaningful topics and interactions. As with any other important decisions, you must think about your decision to delete your Twitter account carefully before proceeding.
Think about the people you interact with on Twitter and whether you have other ways of reaching them if need be. Think of the benefits you may enjoy if you delete the app and weigh them against the disadvantages.
Try a self-imposed hiatus to see how long you can stay away from Twitter. If you do not have enough will power to stay off, it may not yet be time to delete the app.
If you use Twitter to access certain photos, back them up so you can access them when you need.
Delete the App
Once you have made the decision to delete Twitter from your phone, the steps to follow are short and simple. Twitter does not provide you with a temporary delete option so you should proceed to this step only when you are sure that it is the best decision for you.
If, however, you log in to your account within 30 days of deleting it, you can reactivate it. If, however, the 30-day grace period is over, you need to follow these steps.
Deleting Twitter Permanently
After deactivating Twitter, your account will retain your user data for 30 days. At this point, the deletion is still temporary. Your account will be completely gone when Twitter completely removes your data from their system. The process takes 30 days.
If you change your mind before the 30-day period, you can reactivate your account and continue using it. Another important thing to note is that Twitter does not have any control over sites such as Bing or Google. Content from your profile may still be visible online.
If you want a different username, email address, or password for your account, you do not need to delete your account. Go to your account settings and make those changes. After deactivation, some content from your account may continue to be visible for a few days.
To use a username or email address on a different account, you need to change it and confirm the change before deactivating your account.
Once your account has been deactivated, your information including your username, public profile, and display name will no longer be available on Twitter for Android and iOS.
How to Make Your Username Available for Re-Use
With the above steps, you will get rid of your Twitter account.