How Do I Deactivate and Delete My Uber Account?

If you no longer want an Uber account, there are a few steps you need to take to deactivate and delete your account. First, use the Uber app to deactivate your account.

Uber is the leading ride-sharing company in the world. You may have signed up and used Uber a few times, but what if you no longer want an Uber account? There are a few steps you need to take to deactivate and delete your Uber account permanently.

Use the Uber App

The easiest way to deactivate your account is to use the Uber app:

  1. Open the app and go to the Menu bar.

  2. Select Account, and then select Help.

  3. Select "Deactivate My Account." You will be asked to provide some information about why you're deactivating your account. Uber may contact you if they have questions about your deactivation.

  4. After you have provided your explanation, select "Deactivate Account." You will see a message that your account has been deactivated.

Contact Uber Customer Service

If you are having trouble deactivating your account using the app, or if you want to completely delete your Uber account, you can contact Uber customer service.

  1. Go to the Uber website and select Contact Us from the menu bar.

  2. Select "I have an issue with my account."

  3. You will then be asked to provide some information, such as your name, email address, and phone number.

  4. Next, select the type of issue you are having. For example, if you want to delete your account, select "Accounts and Profiles."

  5. You will then be asked to provide some more information about your problem.

  6. In the Description box, write that you want to delete your account. Be sure to include your name and email address so Uber can contact you if they have any questions.

  7. Click Submit and an Uber representative will contact you.

Deactivate Your Account on the Website

If you don't want to use the Uber app or have trouble deactivating your account using the app, you can also deactivate your account on the website.

  1. Go to the Uber website, and select Sign In from the menu bar.

  2. Enter your email address and password, then select Accounts and Profiles from the menu bar.

  3. Select "Deactivate My Account."

  4. You will then be asked to explain why you're deactivating your account.

How Long Does It Take to Deactivate an Uber account?

It usually takes a few days for Uber to process account deactivations. However, in some cases, it may take longer. If you have any questions about the deactivation process, contact Uber customer service.

Why Did GetHuman Write "How Do I Deactivate and Delete My Uber Account?"?

After thousands of Uber customers came to GetHuman in search of an answer to this problem (and many others), we decided it was time to publish instructions. So we put together How Do I Deactivate and Delete My Uber Account? to try to help. It takes time to get through these steps according to other users, including time spent working through each step and contacting Uber if necessary. Best of luck and please let us know if you successfully resolve your issue with guidance from this page.

Why does GetHuman Write How-to Guides for Uber Problems?

GetHuman has been working for over 10 years on sourcing information about big organizations like Uber in order to help customers resolve customer service issues faster. We started with contact information and fastest ways to reach a human at big companies. Particularly ones with slow or complicated IVR or phone menu systems. Or companies that have self-serve help forums instead of a customer service department. From there, we realized that consumers still needed more detailed help solving the most common problems, so we expanded to this set of guides, which grows every day. And if you spot any issues with our How Do I Deactivate and Delete My Uber Account? guide, please let us know by sending us feedback. We want to be as helpful as possible. If you appreciated this guide, please share it with your favorite people. Our free information and tools is powered by you, the customer. The more people that use it, the better it gets.

Uber

Asked 2 months ago
Updated 2 months ago
Viewed 18,768 times
Uber
close Uber account
delete Uber account

What customers are saying about this and similar problems

I completed a delivery but it didn’t show on my earnings. I have all the details and re...
I CANT FIGURE OUT HOW TO CONTACT UBER WHAT THE ****
I was book a ride yesterday with uber but couldn't connect the call with driver so why...
Already I have paid my last trip charges by cash to driver although showing charges pen...
The uber app changes the address that I put in. For instance, I say to pick me up at...

The Free, Easy Way to Move Services

Call our Free Concierge and we will compare service and plans in your new home area and schedule all setup for the same day- free of charge! Get a better deal on all your services in 1 call, and let us make scheduling easy for you.

Call Free: 888-959-6783Our service is unaffiliated and thus can compare plans across many providers and schedule multiple technicians
Was this page helpful? If so, please share!
Sharing is what powers GetHuman's free customer service contact information and tools. You can help!