电缆 Vs 光纤 Vs Dsl - 对我来说最好的选择是什么?

DSL、电缆或光纤互联网服务的选择取决于区域可用性、家庭布线方式以及消费者的选择。许多地区还没有光纤,许多公司不再支持 DSL 连接,这使得有线宽带成为美国大多数人的选择。成本和互联网需求是消费者在做决定时应该考虑的两个问题。

为您的家庭或办公室选择宽带互联网可能是一项艰巨的任务。根据您居住的地方,您可能在提供商及其使用的技术方面有多种选择。另一方面,您可能只有一个选择来建立 Internet 连接。

如果您确实可以选择提供商,您可能需要考虑他们如何将您的家庭或办公室连接到 Internet。三种主要技术是DSL、电缆和光纤。

数字用户线路

数字用户线,主要称为“DSL”,是高速互联网连接的鼻祖。 DSL 在电话线上运行以提供宽带连接。

作为一项较旧的技术,重要的是要注意 DSL 是连接到 Internet 的最慢的方式。下载速度为 5-35 Mbps,上传速度为 1-10 Mbps。虽然这对于许多住宅家庭来说已经足够了,但游戏玩家和进行大量流媒体播放的人可能会发现这些速度无法满足他们的需求。

鉴于 DSL 的缓慢,您可能想知道为什么人们仍然拥有 DSL 连接。原因是美国的大多数家庭仍然使用有线电话服务。如果家庭有线电话服务并且在室内有可用的电话插孔,则可以建立 DSL 服务。

一些 Internet 服务提供商不再提供 DSL 服务,但有些提供,而且价格比电缆或光纤等更快的选项更实惠。确定 DSL 是否对您可用的唯一方法是联系您所在地区的提供商并询问可用性。

电缆

有线宽带互联网利用了美国大多数家庭已经拥有的另一种技术:有线电视。为家庭提供电视服务的同轴电缆也可以以比电话线快得多的速度提供宽带互联网。

如果您选择有线互联网,您应该能够获得 10-500 Mbps 的下载速度和 5-50 Mbps 的上传速度。最低速度和最高速度之间的显着差异通常取决于您的提供商的能力以及您选择的包。正如您所料,您将为更快的速度支付更多费用。

事实证明,有线互联网如此受欢迎,以至于许多成熟的有线电视提供商已将业务转向互联网服务。 XfinityRCN和其他公司提供的套餐甚至不包括有线电视,但包括一种设备,可以帮助用户将视频联系人和直播电视传输到他们的智能电视上。事实上,一些提供商甚至提供免费的流媒体服务作为其套餐的一部分。

纤维

目前,光纤网络提供最快的互联网服务。这些电缆由玻璃线制成,并使用光来传输信号。因此,拥有光纤宽带的用户可以获得 250-1,000 Mbps 的下载速度和 250-1,000 Mbps 的上传速度。如果您有许多家庭成员同时在线、参与游戏或进行大量流媒体播放,那么这些速度可能会显着改变游戏规则。此外,诸如此类的语音在商业环境中可能是有益的。

不幸的是,光纤互联网在美国并未广泛使用,尽管一些主要城市提供了这种选择。 AT&TVerizon都是试图推出光纤互联网的两家公司。如果您有兴趣将 Internet 升级到此级别的服务,您可以联系您的服务提供商并询问他们是否计划很快推出光纤。他们可能会将您列入邮件列表,以便您在光纤进入您的社区时第一个知道。

做出你的选择

如果您确实可以在提供商和计划之间进行选择,则需要考虑以下事项:

成本:对于许多人来说,选择使用哪种 Internet 服务归结为成本。作为传统技术,DSL 通常是最便宜的。虽然它的成本低是因为它提供的速度最慢,但对于某些家庭,尤其是那些生活在预算中的家庭来说,它可能仍然有意义。

然而,同样重要的是要注意,大多数互联网提供商提供其他服务,例如固定电话和移动电话计划、有线电视、家庭安全和智能家居服务。最后,通过将服务捆绑在一起,一个家庭可能会得到更好的交易:如果您的家庭需要其他电信产品,请不要过分依赖一项服务的定价。

低收入家庭的另一个选择是利用生命线计划,这是一项提供电话和互联网服务折扣的联邦计划。您所在地区的服务提供商可能会参与此计划,有些甚至提供他们自己的符合收入条件的计划,为您提供无合同的有线 Internet 服务和可以帮助您和您的家人快速上网的教育计划。选择参与其中一个计划可能比简单地选择 DSL 计划要好得多。

性能:如果您在家工作或学习,或者希望获得尽可能高的速度,您可以选择电缆或光纤连接。许多 Internet 服务提供商提供不同级别的服务,因此您还需要比较计划,以了解哪些计划可为您提供所需的服务级别。请记住,还有其他因素可能会影响您获得的速度。例如,某些建筑物和街区的速度可能比其他建筑物和街区快。此外,您还需要考虑您的设备及其性能。

方便:许多人发现他们更愿意尽量减少每月支付的账单数量。通过一个服务提供商进行捆绑可以让消费者花更少的时间来整理账单。如果这对您很重要,您可以选择从已经为您提供有线电视、固定电话或移动电话服务的公司获取 Internet 服务。大多数知名的电信公司,如ComcastCox等,都已经提供了全方位的服务。

但是,捆绑有一个缺点:如果您确实选择将您的服务捆绑在一起,请记住,如果您稍后决定更愿意取消某些服务或选择使用其他提供商,那么将它们分开可能具有挑战性。具体服务。

客户服务:另一个重要的考虑因素是提供商提供的服务水平。如果您在提供商处有过糟糕的经历,并且您所在地区有其他选择,您可以选择使用更容易使用的服务。

最后的想法

如果您计划升级当前的 Internet 连接,或者要搬到不熟悉 Internet 提供商可以提供的服务的地区,那么做一些研究是值得的。找出您所在地区的供应商:大多数供应商网站都有一个搜索工具,可让您输入邮政编码和街道地址,以确定是否可以将您连接到该供应商的网络。您还可以向您的 HOA 或物业经理询问有关哪些公司为您的建筑物或社区提供服务的信息。

Help from Real People

We partner with a US-based company with live tech support experts available 24/7. Take advantage of a $1 one-week trial membership and chat with an expert now.
Chat With A Help Expert

Why Did GetHuman Write "电缆 Vs 光纤 Vs Dsl - 对我来说最好的选择是什么?"?

在成千上万的Verizon FiOS客户来到GetHuman寻求针对此问题(以及许多其他问题)的答案之后,我们认为是时候发布说明了。因此,我们将电缆 Vs 光纤 Vs Dsl - 对我来说最好的选择是什么?组合在一起以尝试提供帮助。根据其他用户来完成这些步骤需要花费时间,包括花费在完成每个步骤和联系Verizon FiOS(如有必要)上的时间。祝您好运,如果您通过此页面上的指南成功解决了问题,请告诉我们。

Why does GetHuman Write How-to Guides for Verizon FiOS Problems?

为了帮助客户更快地解决客户服务问题,GetHuman致力于寻找诸如Verizon FiOS之类的大型组织的信息已有10多年的历史了。我们从联系信息开始,并以最快的方式与大公司联系。特别是IVR或电话菜单系统缓慢或复杂的系统。或拥有自助服务论坛而不是客户服务部门的公司。从那里,我们意识到消费者仍然需要更详细的帮助来解决最常见的问题,因此我们扩展到了这一指南,并且这一指南每天都在增长。并且,如果您发现我们的电缆 Vs 光纤 Vs Dsl - 对我来说最好的选择是什么?指南存在任何问题,请通过向我们发送反馈来告知我们。我们希望尽可能提供帮助。如果您喜欢本指南,请与您最喜欢的人分享。我们的免费信息和工具由您(客户)提供支持。使用它的人越多,获得的效果就越好。

Verizon FiOS

Speak to An Expert Now

We partner with a US-based expert help site to provide you with tech support 24/7. Enjoy a $1 one-week trial membership and chat with a live expert now.
Get Live Expert Help
Asked hace 3 meses
Updated hace 3 meses
Viewed 176,751 times
Verizon FiOS
购买 AT&T
购买威瑞森
购买RCN
购买 Xfinity
购买康卡斯特
购买考克斯

What customers are saying about this and similar problems

WANT TO ADD ANOTHER TV TO SERVICE
Waiting on installation and they did not come.
New customer looking for home internet
My internet is not working .*They said I owed a bill from **** which I paid and I stil...
Telephone line hanging to low (*ft) over driveway
Was this page helpful? If so, please share!
Sharing is what powers GetHuman's free customer service contact information and tools. You can help!

Cable Vs Fiber Vs Dsl - What's the Best Option for Me?

The choice of DSL, cable, or fiber Internet service depends on area availability, how a home is wired, and consumer choice. Fiber is not yet available in many areas and many companies no longer support DSL connectivity, making cable broadband the option of choice for most people in the United States. Cost and Internet needs are two issues that consumers should consider when making a decision.

Choosing broadband Internet for your home or office can be a daunting task. Depending on where you live, you may have multiple options in terms of providers and the technologies they use. On the other hand, you may have but one choice for establishing an Internet connection.

If you do have a choice of provider, you may want to consider how they connect your home or office to the Internet. The three primary technologies are DSL, cable and fiber.

DSL

A digital subscriber line, known primarily as "DSL" is the granddaddy of high-speed Internet connections. DSL runs over phone lines to provide broadband connectivity.

As an older technology, it's important to note that DSL is the slowest way of connecting to the Internet. Download speeds are 5-35 Mbps and upload speeds are 1-10 Mbps. While this is sufficient for many residential households, gamers and people who do a lot of streaming may find that these speeds don't meet their needs.

Given the slowness of DSL, you may wonder why people still have DSL connections. The reason is that most homes in the United States are still wired for landline phone service. If the home is wired for phone service and has a working phone jack indoors, DSL service can be established.

Some Internet service providers no longer provide DSL service, but some do, and the rates can be more affordable than faster options such as cable or fiber. The only way to find out if DSL is available to you is to contact your areas providers and ask about availability.

Cable

Cable broadband Internet makes use of another type of technology that most homes in the United States already have: Cable television. The same coaxial cables that bring TV service to a home can also bring broadband Internet at much faster speeds than telephone lines.

If you opt for cable internet, you should be able to get download speeds between 10-500 Mbps and upload speeds between 5-50 Mbps. The significant disparity between the lowest possible speeds and the highest usually depends on your provider's capabilities as well as the package that you choose. As you might expect, you will pay more for faster speeds.

Cable Internet has proven so popular that many well-established cable television providers have pivoted their businesses to Internet service. Companies like Xfinity, RCN and others offer packages that don't even include cable television but include a device that can help users stream video contacts and live television to their smart TVs. In fact, some providers even offer free streaming services as part of their packages.

Fiber

Fiber optic networks provide the fastest Internet service at this time. These cables are made of glass wires and use light to transmit signals. As a result, those who have fiber broadband can get download speeds between 250-1,000 Mbps and upload speeds of 250-1,000 Mbps. If you have many family members who are online at the same time, or involved with gaming, or do a lot of streaming, these speeds can be a significant game-changer. In addition, speech such as these can be beneficial in a business environment.

Unfortunately, fiber Internet is not widely available in the United States, although some major cities offer this option. Both AT&T and Verizon are two companies that are trying to roll out fiber Internet. If you are interested in upgrading your Internet to this level of service, you can contact your service provider and ask if they plan on rolling out fiber anytime soon. They may be able to put you on a mailing list so that you will be the first to know when fiber comes to your community.

Making Your Choice

If you do have a choice between providers and plans, you'll want to consider the following:

Cost: For many people, the choice of which Internet service to use boils down to cost. As a legacy technology, DSL is typically the cheapest. While its low cost is because it offers the slowest speed, it may still make sense for some families, particularly those living on a budget.

However, it's also important to note that most Internet providers offer other services, such as landline and mobile phone plans, cable television, home security and smart home services. In the end, a household may get a better deal by bundling services together: Don't rely too much on the pricing of one service if your household needs other telecommunications products.

Another option for a low-income household is to make use of the lifeline program, a federal program that provides discounts on telephone and Internet service. Service providers in your area may participate in this program, and some even offer their own income-qualified plans that offer you cable Internet service with no contracts and educational programs that can help you and your family get online quickly. Opting to participate in one of these programs could be a much better deal than simply choosing a DSL plan.

Performance: If you work or study from home, or prefer to have the highest speeds possible, you want to choose either cable or fiber connectivity. Many Internet service providers offer different levels of service, so you'll also want to compare plans to see which will give you the service level that you want. Keep in mind that there are other factors that might affect the speeds that you get. For example, some buildings and neighborhoods may have faster speeds than others. In addition, you'll need to take into consideration your devices and how well they perform.

Convenience: Many people find that they prefer to minimize the number of bills that they pay each month. Bundling through one service provider allows consumers to spend less time sorting through bills. If this is important to you, you may opt to get your Internet service from the company that is already providing your cable TV, landline phone or mobile phone service. Most well-known telecommunications companies such as Comcast, Cox and others already provide a full range of services.

However, there is a downside to bundling: If you do opt to bundle your services together, keep in mind that it can be challenging to unbundle them if you decide later on that you would prefer to cancel some services or choose to use other providers for specific services.

Customer service: Another important consideration is the level of service provided by the provider. If you have had a history of bad experiences with a provider, and you have alternatives in your area, you may opt to go with a service that is easier to work with.

Final Thoughts

If you plan to upgrade your current Internet connectivity or are moving to an area where you are unfamiliar with what Internet providers can offer, it pays to do some research. Find out which providers are in your area: Most provider websites have a search tool that allows you to enter your ZIP Code and street address to find out whether it is possible to connect you to that provider's network. You can also ask your HOA or property manager for information on what companies serve your building or neighborhood.

Help from Real People

We partner with a US-based company with live tech support experts available 24/7. Take advantage of a $1 one-week trial membership and chat with an expert now.
Chat With A Help Expert

Why Did GetHuman Write "Cable Vs Fiber Vs Dsl - What's the Best Option for Me?"?

After thousands of Verizon FiOS customers came to GetHuman in search of an answer to this problem (and many others), we decided it was time to publish instructions. So we put together Cable Vs Fiber Vs Dsl - What's the Best Option for Me? to try to help. It takes time to get through these steps according to other users, including time spent working through each step and contacting Verizon FiOS if necessary. Best of luck and please let us know if you successfully resolve your issue with guidance from this page.

Why does GetHuman Write How-to Guides for Verizon FiOS Problems?

GetHuman has been working for over 10 years on sourcing information about big organizations like Verizon FiOS in order to help customers resolve customer service issues faster. We started with contact information and fastest ways to reach a human at big companies. Particularly ones with slow or complicated IVR or phone menu systems. Or companies that have self-serve help forums instead of a customer service department. From there, we realized that consumers still needed more detailed help solving the most common problems, so we expanded to this set of guides, which grows every day. And if you spot any issues with our Cable Vs Fiber Vs Dsl - What's the Best Option for Me? guide, please let us know by sending us feedback. We want to be as helpful as possible. If you appreciated this guide, please share it with your favorite people. Our free information and tools is powered by you, the customer. The more people that use it, the better it gets.

Verizon FiOS

Speak to An Expert Now

We partner with a US-based expert help site to provide you with tech support 24/7. Enjoy a $1 one-week trial membership and chat with a live expert now.
Get Live Expert Help
Asked 3 months ago
Updated 3 months ago
Viewed 195,596 times
Verizon FiOS
buy AT&T
buy Verizon
buy RCN
buy Xfinity
buy Comcast
buy Cox

What customers are saying about this and similar problems

This is Chinese restaurant, we out of service
Selling house ****. New buyers would like to transfer our Verizon fios internet account...
I've been on hold for over * hrs, and I am flabbergasted this morning, My internet is o...
No Verizon internet connection
Regarding Fios internet account* my Fios internet*WiFi is not connecting to the interne...

Paying Too Much for Your Plan?

After helping consumers for 10 years, we realized that you need an impartial, live person you can talk to about comparing the various TV, cable, Internet and phone plans in your area- somebody who can compare the best deals across telecom providers. So we created a free concierge service you can call at the phone number below.

Call Anytime: 888-379-2546Our concierge is unaffiliated and therefore able to compare deals across many companies
Was this page helpful? If so, please share!
Sharing is what powers GetHuman's free customer service contact information and tools. You can help!