是否值得购买我自己的家庭互联网设备?

从互联网提供商处租用设备长期以来一直是许多消费者的默认选择。但是,有些人选择购买自己的调制解调器和路由器并自行安装。此选项可以帮助家庭节省每月的互联网费用,同时在选择最佳设备时提供灵活性和选择。

家庭互联网已经成为一种标准的公用事业,许多人发现自己在为连接以及热、电和水做预算。可悲的是,家庭互联网也是许多家庭每月的一大笔开支,每月达到数百美元。许多消费者因无法降低这些成本而感到沮丧,这些成本似乎每年都在增加。虽然某些地区,尤其是主要城市,可能会提供不止一种互联网服务选项,但农村或半农村地区仅由一个提供商提供服务的情况并不少见。这意味着供应商之间没有可以鼓励更好定价的竞争。

有些人试图通过直接购买互联网设备(例如调制解调器和路由器)而不是从他们的供应商那里租用来降低每月的成本。他们声称,随着时间的推移,这样做可以降低成本并提供其他优势,例如能够选择适合他们需求的品牌。如果您一直在考虑此选项,则需要考虑几件事。

家庭互联网设备

家庭互联网通过电缆和在某些情况下通过电话线传送到家庭。拥有互联网的家庭至少必须拥有调制解调器,这是一种接收模拟信号并将其数字化的设备,以便可以通过计算机、平板电脑、手机和智能电视等设备访问它们。如果一个家庭想要拥有 Wi-Fi,它还必须有一个路由器,这是一种在整个家庭中分配互联网连接的设备。近年来,可以购买结合调制解调器和路由器的单个设备。

其他类型的家庭互联网设备包括可以插入插座并帮助增强整个家庭的 Wi-Fi 信号的 Pod,以及为电视提供在线娱乐的流媒体设备。

从您的供应商处租用设备

当您注册 Internet 服务时,您的提供商通常会为您提供专业安装 Internet 或向您发送自行安装工具包的选项。在这两种情况下,您都将收到一个调制解调器和路由器,并且根据您选择的互联网套餐,您将收到一个流媒体设备,以便在家中使用。该设备将预先编程以与您的家庭互联网一起使用。

如果您选择专业安装,您的技术人员将在离开前测试设备并向您展示如何使用它。如果您选择自行安装,您将能够在安装过程中测试连接性,并且通常可以访问应用程序(例如Xfinity提供的应用程序)来解决任何问题。如果您自己无法处理这种情况,您可以致电您的提供者并寻求帮助。

您的每月账单将包括您设备的租赁费。如果您的设备出现故障,您通常可以获得供应商的技术支持,并在必要时进行更换。您可以定期将调制解调器和路由器升级到最新版本,这有助于确保您享受最佳连接。

购买自己的设备

如果您选择购买自己的设备,则需要将此通知您的互联网提供商。如果您已经拥有 Internet 服务,您应该联系技术支持并让公司知道您将使用自己的设备并且不再希望租用您提供商的路由器和调制解调器。执行此操作时,您将收到有关如何归还已有设备的说明。请务必这样做并获得退货收据,这样您就不会被收取设备或未来的租金费用。如果您要注册新服务,请告诉销售人员您将提供自己的调制解调器和路由器。

选择调制解调器和路由器后,您需要对其进行配置,使其与您的 Internet 服务一起使用。这可能是一个挑战,您可能需要在此过程中进行一些故障排除。在选择您自己的家庭互联网设备时,您可能需要查看制造商提供的客户支持类型,以便获得帮助。请注意,如果您发现设备似乎在您的电话服务中,您的 Internet 提供商可能无法提供技术支持。请务必保存好收据和包装材料,以防您必须退回路由器和调制解调器。

据行业分析师称,通过购买自己的设备,您每年可以节省大约 120 美元。您购买最新的路由器和调制解调器的初始投资约为 150 美元,如果考虑到家庭互联网设备的使用寿命可能约为 3 年,您可以节省数百美元。此外,如果您的设备出现问题,您将不必等待技术人员上门或费心将设备带到您的互联网公司进行更换。您可以在您认为合适的情况下,按照您自己的时间表自行管理这些问题。

购买自己的设备的另一个好处是能够选择您认为最好的调制解调器和路由器。您可以评估您的需求并购买提供最高速度和可访问性的调制解调器/路由器。如果您选择租房,您就会被供应商选择给您的东西所困扰。如果您的提供商的选择不合标准或根本无法提供其他设置可以提供的性能,这可能会特别令人沮丧。

然而,对于许多人来说,即使是几百美元的储蓄也不值得。如果您不了解技术问题,您可能会发现设置设备既困难又令人困惑。维护设备也可能是一项挑战,如果在保修期满后出现故障,您将不得不更换它。如果互联网提供商在您遇到技术问题时拒绝提供任何级别的合作,那就更令人沮丧了。

事实上,事实证明,互联网提供商有充分的理由鼓励消费者从提供商那里租用调制解调器和路由器,而不是自己购买:租金随着时间的推移而增加,是提供商的重要收入来源。这对于有线电视提供商来说尤其如此,因为越来越多的人切断电源线并选择通过他们的互联网连接而不是为额外的有线电视服务付费,因此他们失去了可观的收入来源。

由于这种经济激励,您可能会发现您的供应商使购买设备极为不便。虽然这可能不是一件好事,但如果您住在一个只有一两个供应商的地区,您可能没有太多选择。租用您的设备可能是最实用的选择。

底线

您可以看到,购买互联网设备而不是租用的决定并不总是那么简单。虽然可以节省大量成本,但也存在确保兼容性以及能够自行处理维护和维修问题的问题。如果您是一个精通技术的人,并且在预算更新设备和进行维修方面没有问题,那么购买自己的设备确实可以随着时间的推移节省资金。另一方面,租赁有几个优势,包括能够获得故障设备的帮助、避免因不兼容而导致的延误和挫折,以及在您当前的设置达到其周期结束时免费升级。

Help from Real People

We partner with a US-based company with live tech support experts available 24/7. Take advantage of a $1 one-week trial membership and chat with an expert now.
Chat With A Help Expert
是否值得购买我自己的家庭互联网设备?

Why Did GetHuman Write "是否值得购买我自己的家庭互联网设备?"?

在成千上万的Verizon FiOS客户来到GetHuman寻求针对此问题(以及许多其他问题)的答案之后,我们认为是时候发布说明了。因此,我们将是否值得购买我自己的家庭互联网设备?组合在一起以尝试提供帮助。根据其他用户来完成这些步骤需要花费时间,包括花费在完成每个步骤和联系Verizon FiOS(如有必要)上的时间。祝您好运,如果您通过此页面上的指南成功解决了问题,请告诉我们。

Why does GetHuman Write How-to Guides for Verizon FiOS Problems?

为了帮助客户更快地解决客户服务问题,GetHuman致力于寻找诸如Verizon FiOS之类的大型组织的信息已有10多年的历史了。我们从联系信息开始,并以最快的方式与大公司联系。特别是IVR或电话菜单系统缓慢或复杂的系统。或拥有自助服务论坛而不是客户服务部门的公司。从那里,我们意识到消费者仍然需要更详细的帮助来解决最常见的问题,因此我们扩展到了这一指南,并且这一指南每天都在增长。并且,如果您发现我们的是否值得购买我自己的家庭互联网设备?指南存在任何问题,请通过向我们发送反馈来告知我们。我们希望尽可能提供帮助。如果您喜欢本指南,请与您最喜欢的人分享。我们的免费信息和工具由您(客户)提供支持。使用它的人越多,获得的效果就越好。

Verizon FiOS

Speak to An Expert Now

We partner with a US-based expert help site to provide you with tech support 24/7. Enjoy a $1 one-week trial membership and chat with a live expert now.
Get Live Expert Help
Asked a year ago
Updated 2 months ago
Viewed 417,809 times
Verizon FiOS
购买自己的调制解调器
租自己的调制解调器
购买wifi设备

What customers are saying about this and similar problems

I was charged for an old account that was canceled. I need a refund for the amount char...
I can't access certain websites including Gmail. Some are very slow and some never con...
I can't access certain websites including Gmail. Some are very slow and some never con...
I have a remaining balance on a closed account I'd like to pay
This is ********. I started texting a professional and you want me to enter my informat...
Was this page helpful? If so, please share!
Sharing is what powers GetHuman's free customer service contact information and tools. You can help!

Is It Worth It Buy My Own Home Internet Equipment?

Renting equipment from Internet providers has long been the default option for many consumers. However, some are choosing to purchase their own modems and routers and install them themselves. This option can help households save money on their monthly Internet bill while offering flexibility and choice when it comes to selecting the best equipment.

Home Internet has become a standard utility and many people find themselves budgeting for connectivity along with heat, electricity and water. Sadly, home internet is also a significant monthly expense for many households, reaching into hundreds of dollars each month. Many consumers are frustrated by their inability to reduce these costs, which seem to increase each year. While some areas, particularly in major cities, may offer more than one option for Internet service, it isn't unusual for rural or semi-rural areas to be served by only one provider. This means that there is no competition between providers that could encourage better pricing.

Some people try to reduce monthly costs by purchasing Internet equipment, such as modems and routers, outright rather than leasing them from their provider. They claim that doing reduces their costs over time and provides other advantages, such as being able to select brands that suit their needs. If you've been considering this option, there are several things to think about.

Home Internet Equipment

Home Internet is delivered to households through cables and, in some instances, telephone lines. Homes that have Internet must at minimum, have a modem, a device that takes analog signals and digitizes them so that they are accessible via devices such as computers, tablets, phones, and smart televisions. If a household wants to have Wi-Fi, it must also have a router, a device that distributes Internet connectivity throughout the home. In recent years, it has been possible to purchase a single device that combines both modem and router.

Other types of home Internet equipment include pods, which can be plugged into outlets and help strengthen Wi-Fi signals throughout the household, as well as streaming devices, which deliver online entertainment to televisions.

Renting Equipment from Your Provider

When you sign up for Internet service, your provider will typically offer you the option of having your Internet professionally installed or sending you a self-installation kit. In both cases, you will receive a modem and router and, depending on the Internet package you choose, a streaming device, to use in your home. This equipment will be pre-programmed to work with your home Internet.

If you opt for professional installation, your technician will test the equipment and show you how to use it before leaving. If you choose self-installation, you'll be able to test connectivity as part of the installation process and can often access an app, such as that provided by Xfinity, to troubleshoot any issues. If you are unable to handle the situation yourself, you can call your provider and ask for assistance.

Your monthly bill will include a rental fee for your equipment. If your equipment malfunctions, you'll typically be eligible for technical support from your provider and replacements if necessary. Periodically, you'll be able to upgrade your modem and router to the latest version, which helps to ensure that you will enjoy the best connectivity available.

Buying Your Own Equipment

If you opt to purchase your own equipment, you will need to advise your Internet provider of this. If you already have Internet service, you should contact technical support and let the company know that you will be using your own equipment and no longer wish to rent your provider's routers and modems. When you do this, you'll be given instructions on how to return the equipment that you already have. Be sure to do this and get a receipt for the return so that you won't be billed for the equipment or future rental charges. If you are signing up for new service, tell the salesperson that you will be providing your own modem and router.

Once you choose your modem and router, you will need to configure it so that it works with your Internet service. This can be a challenge and you may have to do some troubleshooting in the process. When selecting your own home Internet equipment, you may want to check and see what kind of customer support the manufacturer offers so that you can get assistance. Be aware that your Internet provider may not be able to offer technical support if you find that the equipment appears to be in with your phone service. Be sure to save the receipt and packaging materials in case you have to return the router and modem.

According to industry analysts, you can save about $120 a year by buying your own equipment. Your initial investment for an up-to-date router and modem will be about $150, and if you consider that the lifespan of home Internet equipment can be about three years, your savings can reach hundreds of dollars. In addition, if something goes wrong with your equipment you will not have to wait for a technician to visit or go to the bother of taking the equipment to your Internet company for a swap. You can manage these issues on your own, as you see fit, and on your own timeline.

Another benefit to purchasing your own equipment is being able to select the modem and router that you feel is best. You can assess your needs and purchase the modem/router that offers the highest level of speed and accessibility. If you choose to rent, you are stuck with what your provider opts to give you. This can be particularly frustrating if your provider's choice is substandard or simply doesn't offer the performance that other set-ups can provide.

For many people, however, even a few hundred dollars in savings isn't worth it. If you aren't up on technical matters, you might find that setting up your equipment is difficult and confusing. Maintaining the equipment can also be a challenge and if it malfunctions after the warranty is expired, you'll be on the hook for replacing it. It can be even more frustrating if an Internet provider refuses to offer any level of cooperation should you experience technical problems.

In fact, it turns out that Internet providers have a good reason to encourage consumers to rent modems and routers from providers rather than purchasing their own: Rental fees add up over time and are a significant source of income for providers. This may be particularly true for cable providers who have lost a significant revenue stream as more people cut the cord and choose to stream television through their Internet connection rather than paying for additional cable service.

Because of this financial incentive, you may find that your provider makes it extremely inconvenient to purchase equipment. While this may not be good business, if you live in an area with only one or two providers, you may not have much of a choice. Renting your equipment may be the most practical option.

Bottom Line

You can see, the decision to purchase Internet equipment instead of renting isn't always straightforward. While there can be significant cost savings, there is also the issue of ensuring compatibility and being able to handle maintenance and repair issues on your own. If you are a technically savvy individual and have no problems with budgeting for updated equipment and making repairs, purchasing your own equipment indeed saves money over time. On the other hand, renting comes with several advantages, including the ability to get help with malfunctioning equipment, avoiding delays and frustration due to incompatibilities, and free upgrades as your current setup reaches the end of its cycle.

Help from Real People

We partner with a US-based company with live tech support experts available 24/7. Take advantage of a $1 one-week trial membership and chat with an expert now.
Chat With A Help Expert

Why Did GetHuman Write "Is It Worth It Buy My Own Home Internet Equipment?"?

After thousands of Verizon FiOS customers came to GetHuman in search of an answer to this problem (and many others), we decided it was time to publish instructions. So we put together Is It Worth It Buy My Own Home Internet Equipment? to try to help. It takes time to get through these steps according to other users, including time spent working through each step and contacting Verizon FiOS if necessary. Best of luck and please let us know if you successfully resolve your issue with guidance from this page.

Why does GetHuman Write How-to Guides for Verizon FiOS Problems?

GetHuman has been working for over 10 years on sourcing information about big organizations like Verizon FiOS in order to help customers resolve customer service issues faster. We started with contact information and fastest ways to reach a human at big companies. Particularly ones with slow or complicated IVR or phone menu systems. Or companies that have self-serve help forums instead of a customer service department. From there, we realized that consumers still needed more detailed help solving the most common problems, so we expanded to this set of guides, which grows every day. And if you spot any issues with our Is It Worth It Buy My Own Home Internet Equipment? guide, please let us know by sending us feedback. We want to be as helpful as possible. If you appreciated this guide, please share it with your favorite people. Our free information and tools is powered by you, the customer. The more people that use it, the better it gets.

Verizon FiOS

Speak to An Expert Now

We partner with a US-based expert help site to provide you with tech support 24/7. Enjoy a $1 one-week trial membership and chat with a live expert now.
Get Live Expert Help
Asked 10 months ago
Updated 10 months ago
Viewed 359,673 times
Verizon FiOS
buy own modem
rent own modem
buy wifi equipment

What customers are saying about this and similar problems

I can't get a channel on either tv. It says press any key and U did
I can't get a channel on either tv. It says press any key and U did
Had an appointment today for technician to install ONT to connect service and no one sh...
Had an appointment today for technician to install ONT to connect service and no one sh...
I want to cancel the internet from my package

Paying Too Much for Internet?

Want to talk to a real person right now who can compare TV, Internet, or phone packages in your area from different companies? Our service tracks the best deals from the various providers in your home area.

Call Now: 888-379-2546Our concierge is unaffiliated and therefore able to compare deals across many companies
Was this page helpful? If so, please share!
Sharing is what powers GetHuman's free customer service contact information and tools. You can help!