How Do I Delete My Yelp Account?

Yelp links customers and businesses in an online service and product review site that allows real-time feedback on the consumer experience. As a customer or Yelper, you can close your account effectively deleting all your content through an online portal. Businesses can un-claim sites or close business accounts but the page remains on the site. Advertisers must contact Customer Success managers to close ad accounts.

Yelp is an online consumer review platform that features customer ratings and reviews of businesses. As a local entrepreneur, you can list your business on Yelp as a way of attracting more customers. Businesses can also pay to advertise on Yelp in an attempt to attract more customers. Customers can sign up for a consumer account (Yelper account) to share thoughts on service, price, product and experience. But, what if you no longer wish to have a Yelp account? How do you delete your Yelp account? You can get information and assistance on deleting your account from Yelp user support here, and below are the steps to deleting your Yelp account.

How to Delete a Yelp Account

The process and outcome of deleting your account depends on if you are a consumer (Yelper), business owner with a business account, or a Yelp advertiser.

Yelper Account

If you are a Yelper and want to delete your account, be aware of the following:

  1. All content you posted as a consumer will be deleted with your account. Reviews, photos and other comments will no longer be available.
  2. Deleting your account is permanent. It cannot be restored at a later date. If you want to return to Yelp, you will have to open a new Yelp account.
  3. You will need to submit an online account closure request. You can do this by completing the following steps:
    • Open Yelp in your computer browser.
    • Scroll to the bottom of the page and click "Support."
    • Type in "Close account" in the search bar and hit "enter" on your keyboard.
    • In the message box, type in that you wish to delete your Yelp account.
    • Click "Send."

Business Owner Account

As a business owner, you should be aware of the following regarding your Yelp account:

  1. To no longer have access to your business' page, you can simply "un-claim" that business in the Yelp "tools" to manage your page.
  2. Relinquishing your claim to a page will not delete it from Yelp.
  3. You also have the option to close your business account.
  4. Again, closing your business account will not delete the page from Yelp. Once a business page is on the platform, it will remain permanently.
  5. If you have sold your business or merged with another business, you can transfer your page to the new owner before give up your claim to it.

Yelp Advertisers

If you advertise on Yelp and want to delete your ad account, you must contact your Yelp "Customer Success" manager to close your ad account. You can find more information on Customer Success management in the billing section of your business account.

Closing your Yelp account is quick and easy. As a Yelper, closing the account will delete your content from the platform. For businesses, the business page will remain, but you will no longer have access to it as an administrator. Advertisers must call Yelp for support in closing an account. For more information or assistance, contact Yelp customer support here.

Why Did GetHuman Write "How Do I Delete My Yelp Account?"?

After thousands of Yelp customers came to GetHuman in search of an answer to this problem (and many others), we decided it was time to publish instructions. So we put together How Do I Delete My Yelp Account? to try to help. It takes time to get through these steps according to other users, including time spent working through each step and contacting Yelp if necessary. Best of luck and please let us know if you successfully resolve your issue with guidance from this page.

Why does GetHuman Write How-to Guides for Yelp Problems?

GetHuman has been working for over 10 years on sourcing information about big organizations like Yelp in order to help customers resolve customer service issues faster. We started with contact information and fastest ways to reach a human at big companies. Particularly ones with slow or complicated IVR or phone menu systems. Or companies that have self-serve help forums instead of a customer service department. From there, we realized that consumers still needed more detailed help solving the most common problems, so we expanded to this set of guides, which grows every day. And if you spot any issues with our How Do I Delete My Yelp Account? guide, please let us know by sending us feedback. We want to be as helpful as possible. If you appreciated this guide, please share it with your favorite people. Our free information and tools is powered by you, the customer. The more people that use it, the better it gets.

Yelp

Asked 9 months ago
Updated 9 months ago
Viewed 112,463 times
Yelp
Yelp
Yelp account
close Yelp account

What customers are saying about this and similar problems

Yelp is shadow banning my reviews. They only appear when I am sighed in to create the i...
There is a fake name that wrote a slanderous review . I cannot find out who they are bu...
Yelp keeps taking money out of our account
It took threatening Yelp support with the Attorney General and Consumer Affairs, to fin...
I want my posting to stop being removed. ************I have posted my Bangz review that...
Was this page helpful? If so, please share!
Sharing is what powers GetHuman's free customer service contact information and tools. You can help!