If you are sick of YouTube, planning a social media break, or are committed to being online less, deleting your YouTube account is a relatively easy process. Follow these few steps to permanently delete your YouTube account.
Go to www.youtube.com
In the top right corner, select 'Sign In.'
You will be asked to sign in with your phone number or email, and your password.
In the top right corner, there is a circle icon with either your profile picture or a symbol in it. Select the icon, and then click on 'My Channel.'
In the left corner of your screen, there is a menu panel. Scroll to the bottom of the menu and select 'Settings.'
On the new page, go to the menu panel on the left side of your screen. At the bottom of the menu, select 'Advanced Settings.'
You will be redirected to a new page. Scroll to the bottom of the page and select, 'Delete Channel.'
You will be redirected to sign in again to your Google account with your email address or phone number, and password.
Once you have signed in, you will be given two options to choose from: 'I want to hide my content' or 'I want to permanently delete my account.'
If you choose to hide your content, your YouTube videos and playlists will be hidden. However, your channel name, channel page, your channel art and icon, your subscriptions, and your likes will all still be viewable. If this is not an ideal solution for you, it's best to proceed with permanently deleting your YouTube account.
Select the downward facing arrow next to the 'I want to permanently delete my account' to see a list of all the content that will be deleted. Items that will be deleted include:
Select the checkmark box next to the list of content that will be deleted, and click 'Delete My Content.'
You have successfully permanently deleted your YouTube account. You will receive an email to the email account associated with your YouTube account, confirming that you have deleted the account.
Note that when you delete your YouTube account, you have not deleted the Google or Gmail account that was associated with it.
Additionally, note that closing your YouTube account means you will lose all the unique parts of the account including your subscriptions, search histories, favorite videos, video lists, your groups, and more.
It is possible to recover a permanently deleted YouTube account with the help of YouTube customer support if you act quickly after deciding to delete the account. If too much time has passed, the account may be irretrievable.
After thousands of YouTube customers came to GetHuman in search of an answer to this problem (and many others), we decided it was time to publish instructions. So we put together How Do I Permanently Delete My Youtube Account? to try to help. It takes time to get through these steps according to other users, including time spent working through each step and contacting YouTube if necessary. Best of luck and please let us know if you successfully resolve your issue with guidance from this page.
GetHuman has been working for over 10 years on sourcing information about big organizations like YouTube in order to help customers resolve customer service issues faster. We started with contact information and fastest ways to reach a human at big companies. Particularly ones with slow or complicated IVR or phone menu systems. Or companies that have self-serve help forums instead of a customer service department. From there, we realized that consumers still needed more detailed help solving the most common problems, so we expanded to this set of guides, which grows every day. And if you spot any issues with our How Do I Permanently Delete My Youtube Account? guide, please let us know by sending us feedback. We want to be as helpful as possible. If you appreciated this guide, please share it with your favorite people. Our free information and tools is powered by you, the customer. The more people that use it, the better it gets.